Wanjiru Irungu
2 min readDec 17, 2020

PROLOGUE

THE FIFTH DIMENSION.

PRESENT.

“Honey, we need to leave.” My best friend’s voice brought me back to reality. I could see the pity in her eyes and I hated it. It had been a week of people giving me those pitiful looks and saying how sorry they are and what a good man he was. I really did not care for all that. Most of them did not know him anyway. “Amani, do you hear me?” my best friend sounded genuinely concerned. “I am fine Zoe, I just need a minute with him, one last time for me to feel his presence around me.” I close my eyes and inhale deeply. I still cannot believe that my twin brother is dead and there is no one to blame but myself.

15TH DECEMBER 1984.

Today is the first day of practice and my excitement was out of this world. You see, my brother Reece and are turning fourteen and as by our customs, we were to be initiated into our family’s practices. “Tunu, wake up, we cannot be late for our very first session.” My brother and I are twins but that is the final extent to our similarities. He did not mind for the practices that my family per took in and I am sure that he to some extent thought of it as sinful and wrong. “Well happy birthday to you too Amani.” (I know that our names sound weird but there is an explanation for that. We are of African descent,specifically East African decent, therefor our mother decided to give us names that reflected that fact and this would also tie us to our ancestors. My brother’s name, Tunu, roughly translates into to something precious, my name Amani roughly translates into peace and my mother’s name Nasra, translates into spiritual).Normally, his sarcasm would send me up in flames but I did not mind it much today. From today, I would learn how to unlock all my potential, my abilities and my skills. Today, my training to be a death witch begins.