About Me — Hilary Zeeuwen

Hilary Zeeuwen
2 min readMar 5, 2023

--

I experienced my dark night of the soul after particularly heinous breakup (I will write about this experience as I know sharing my story may help others who are in similar situations). I experienced crippling anxiety for many months followed by several dark depressions. A couple years after this experience, my mom passed away suddenly and unexpectedly in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic. These two experiences have been some of my biggest teachers in life thus far, cracking me open, stirring up trauma, slapping me in the face with my own mortality and ultimately propelling me to live a more connected and authentic life. And what a life it is!

DJing a community event in Revelstoke, BC in 2021

Howdy! I’m Hilary. I love to create, entertain, perform, learn & teach! I am a music lover, DJ, dance & yoga teacher, writer, event producer, solopreneur, and am studying to be a counsellor :) I’m also an athlete and nature enthusiast, I love backcountry snowboarding, hiking, fishing, biking, exploring and foraging.

Having prioritized travel in my 20s, I have have been to over 40 countries, with many repeats! I love to read a variety of literature on my favourite topics; philosophy, theology, ethnobotany, anthropology and psychology.

I am currently completing a Master’s degree in Counselling Psychology, working towards a career in counselling which integrates a broad range of experience, including: grief & bereavement, palliative care & support, music & embodied movement therapy (yoga & dance), meditation, breathwork and nature therapy. Alternative and plant medicines have been a profound teacher in my life, and I am hopeful to be able to offer support to others who wish to explore working with them. Follow MAPS Canada for information on evolving regulations and clinical trials.

I love writing! It helps me learn, process and gain clarity. I will write about life experiences, travel, death, grief, psychology, music, book reviews, plant medicines, culture, anything that interests me really! If this sounds like it’s up your alley, then please follow me, and maybe even buy me a coffee (link below)!

Thank you for reading! If you want to show your support, you can sign up to Medium using my subscription link or buy me a coffee!

I appreciate your support!

--

--

Hilary Zeeuwen

I love to create, perform & teach! I am a DJ, dance & yoga teacher, writer, event producer and soon-to-be counsellor. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/hilaryzee