My Nokia Interview Story: Full Stack Development Co-op

Himanshi Khatri
2 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Hey everyone! I wanted to share what happened when I interviewed for a Full Stack Development Co-op at Nokia. Even though I didn’t get the job, I think there’s stuff here that could help others going for interviews.

Getting Started: First Chat with the Hiring Manager
So, I applied on LinkedIn and got a email from a Nokia hiring manager. Pretty cool, right? We had a quick 15-minute chat about basic stuff like if I could work there, what tech I knew, and they explained the job and team. It was like a sneak peek behind the scenes.

Round 2: The Techie Stuff
Next up was the techie interview with two cloud architects. They dug into my resume and then threw a coding challenge at me. I had to talk through it while doing it live on a shared editor. The challenge? Navigating through a rock setup in a cave using 2D arrays. It was like a coding puzzle game.

Last Round: Chat with the Hiring manager
The final part was a chat with the hiring manager. We went over my past jobs, how I work, what I’m good at, and what I’m not. Also, why I wanted to work at Nokia. They spilled the beans on a new team forming in January, ready to roll in a few months.

The End: A Not-So-Happy Rejection
After two weeks, the rejection email landed in my inbox. Ouch. I asked for feedback, and they said I did great in the interviews. But here’s the kicker — my way of working didn’t fit with their new team vibe.

Thoughts and What’s Next
It stings to get a no, but at least they were straight up about it. The feedback gives me stuff to work on. Now, onto the next gig, armed with some Nokia interview wisdom. Stay tuned for more tales from the job hunt!

Cheers,
Himanshi Khatri

--

--

Himanshi Khatri

Hello I'm Himanshi, grad at UNCC, former software engineer at Oracle Cerner, I've contributed to healthcare solutions and enhanced application performance.