Self learning

Hira Imtiaz
3 min readJul 28, 2018

--

Learning is a process to discover new things, by yourself or by others. Abdul Sattar Edhi was a humanitarian, world’s largest volunteer ambulance working today is because of him.

My favorite example from his life was the message given to him by his mother. He was not from a well-off family, he was given two paisas by his mother with this message; spend one on other and one on yourself. Which clearly shows that all humans are equal. Helping others is also a message from this example. Humanitarianism was in him, we can say by his mother.

This is the reason he is still alive in everyone’s heart. He was more than a superhero.

How to get rid of social media addiction ?

It is very difficult task for youngsters, these days. Here is my story.

When i was in Fsc, social media was quite an attractive thing for me. On that time, i wasn’t having my own mobile and any social account.

One day, my cousins came to meet us. They were socializing on Facebook. I found it quite interesting and made my own account on laptop and used to spend a lot of time doing nothing just swiping down and down.

After this, WhatsApp and Instagram were new addiction. I used to spend all the day just socializing nothing creative. It was affecting my health, i became more tensed and anxious.

Then after admission in university it was also affecting my studies.

According to phycology, it can cause you bad effects like FOMO(fear of missing out), always feeling like you are inferior(you can say complex) and many others. I’m not saying it’s harmful for everyone. In positive way, it keeps us update and in touch with our friends and fellows.

Then i decided to overcome to this and spend most of the time doing something so that no spare time left for it. Then i started playing badminton, ludo and cards etc. Watched movies just to ignore this.

Time of socializing reduced from almost whole day to few hours or you can an hour of the day or two but took time like 1 to 2 months. Now it’s not an addiction for me.

Yes! I do socialize but not like that cause now it’s only, when i need it.

--

--