Plato’s Republic, Explained?

Hiroki Osada
12 min readJun 24, 2023

What is “the good?” It is one of the oldest questions asked in the history of philosophy. Plato addressed this question in the conversational style book titled The Republic. This article explains the gist of the book in a similar conversational style, except this time, a guy from our age goes back in time and joins the conversation.

Mattia Preti, Diogenes and Plato (1649)

A Guy: My God, what was all the light? Weird things always happen when I use Uber premium. Where am I? That stupid Uber driver must have lost his way completely. Hey, sir?

An elderly man: Yes, boy? Well well, look at your weird clothing, are you from abroad?

The Guy: Oh sir, look at yourself. Your clothing is weirder and maybe too much too revealing. Anyway, could you tell me where we are? Also, where I can get food? I’m starving.

An elderly man: Oh poor little boy, this place is Piraeus. Athene is that way. If you are starving, you are more than welcome to come to my house. My family is having a joyful conversation with my dear friends, so perhaps you would like to join the supper.

The Guy: Athene?? Sir, spare me with the bad joke. But cool, maybe I’ll join the meal. Thank you so much, Mr…?

Cephalus, that elderly man, ushered the guy into his house, which has a splendid decor, where his family and friends are engaging in a heated debate…

--

--

Hiroki Osada

Unfunny writer at night, rookie environment campaigner during the day. Writing on social issues with political philosophy and an activist perspective.