American Kids & Entrepreneurship

Suzanne Appel
2 min readOct 30, 2023

--

👋 I wanted to take a moment to share why I post articles about kid entrepreneurship and what it means to me. I hope I’m not alone in thinking that entrepreneurship, risk-taking, problem-solving and innovation are core traits in the American DNA. My kids (12 and 15) are both entrepreneurs, and I’ve watched them learn, grow, lose motivation, regain motivation and recover from challenges.

When I think about how to best, prepare my kids for the future, I really come up with an unprecedented question mark. For generations, we’ve known what careers, relationships, laws, and beliefs systems would be like in the 30 years to come. I’m sure we thought that by 2020 we would at least have flying skateboards and robot housekeepers. We weren’t that far off.

But now, when I look into the future, all I see is change. I love change and that’s something I want to pass on to my kids. I believe we do that by nurturing the entrepreneurial spirit in our children.

Entrepreneurship can truly lift us up by:

1️⃣ Cultivating Future Leaders: By introducing kids to entrepreneurship at an early age, we empower them to become confident, creative, and resourceful individuals. These skills lay a solid foundation for their future success as leaders in any field.

2️⃣ Fostering Problem-Solving Abilities: Entrepreneurship encourages kids to think outside the box and find innovative solutions to real-world problems. This not only enhances their critical thinking skills but also equips them with the ability to adapt and thrive in an ever-changing landscape. And what parent doesn’t want their kids to come to them with problems and propose solutions!

3️⃣ Developing Resilience: Entrepreneurship promotes a growth mindset, encouraging kids to embrace failure as a stepping stone to success. It teaches them to view setbacks as learning opportunities and fuels their hunger for continuous self-improvement.

4️⃣ Encouraging Financial Literacy: Understanding the fundamentals of finance and money management is crucial for success in life. Through entrepreneurship, kids learn valuable lessons about budgeting, saving, and investing, setting them up for a financially secure future.

Do you share the same enthusiasm for kid entrepreneurship? I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences in the comments.

Visit YoungCEOSquad.com for how to get your child started!

> I have a child who would love to be an entrepreneur

> My kids have their own businesses!

> How do I help my kids with a business plan?

> What if my child is shy?

#KidEntrepreneurship #FutureLeaders #Innovation #EmpoweringOurChildren #teachingentrepreneurship #kidpreneurs #kidsinbusiness

--

--