How I got part-time job offers in Canada

Leo
7 min readSep 16, 2023

--

I’ve been living in Canada for a month. The reason I’m here is to pursue further education. Actually, I just felt overwhelmed by my job in my home country and needed to take a break. So I started looking for a place where I could learn and sharpen my skills. And yes, Vancouver! This city is like a hotspot for international students. As it’s in the top three places in Canada, most international students from everywhere choose to come here right after a big city like Toronto.

Vancouver International Airport

Before I landed here, I did some digging on this place. How do people live here? How about the weather? How about the education system? And of course, the big one is “the cost of living.” I was fully aware that the cost of living here was high. But after I arrived here, I just realized that it was really crazy and beyond my imagination. Everything here is literally high. I'm from Thailand. So if Thai people are reading this blog, let me break it down for you. Think about going to a KFC franchise and ordering “All In One Bucket.” That’s basically the starting point for dining out here, and that’s before taxes and tips. I don’t want to freak you out, but that’s a reality check. So the first thing that I believe everyone or most people who plan to come to this city should come up with is “We've got to find a job.” Lucky for us, Vancouver gives the green light for you to work a maximum of 20 hours per week (if you’ve got a study permit), meaning you can only work part-time by law here.

It’s something I hear from pretty much everyone who’s been here or is living here: “Finding a job here is seriously tough.” And yes, that’s true. Personally, I found it to be a real uphill battle. As far as I can tell, a lot of people come to live here, and everyone’s on the hunt for work, which makes the job market ultra-competitive here. What tripped me up big time was that most gigs here want you to have some kind of certification. It was wild, which really blew me away at first. Even if it was a dishwasher position, some restaurants still required a certificate. I have no idea if the certificate is going to help people be good at washing dishes. But it is what it is, right? But here’s my way to find a job: I’m going to tell you how I got job offers from two franchises after seeking a job for two weeks.

Resume/Cover Letter

The first one is a resume. I always make sure that my resume is in its best form. So what do I mean by that? I mean, I always make sure that my resume is in Canadian format. At first, I tried to find some standard templates, but it seemed like every source had a different take on it, even the guidelines from local colleges here. So I’ve tried to mix them. Make sure that the job description in my work experience is as closely related to the position I’m going to apply for as possible. I realized that the work experience section is really important because employers will look for a candidate who has had experience before. It can guarantee employers that they don’t need to make an effort with you that much. So, if you don’t have any experience, I recommend you apply for a job that is related to your home country. For example, If you come from Thailand, you can apply to a Thai restaurant first to gain experience. You may end up working there without doing any interviews. But sometimes I find that having experience back in your home country isn’t going to help you that much because the employers here look for “Canadian experience”. which means if you used to be a server in your country before, those experiences might not be considered by employers here. Another option I’ve heard very often is to look for volunteers to gain Canadian experience. But I’m not sure if it works; I’ve never tried it before. Moreover, never forget to send your cover letter along, as it can make employers feel valued and that you’re literally interested in their job position.

Certification

As I mentioned earlier, certification is an absolute must around here. It’s not just a nice-to-have. Some employers make it a non-negotiable requirement, not just a preference. Sadly, it could be the hurdle that prevents them from even glancing at your resume. It’s so sad, but it’s true. So, getting certified could put you in the spotlight among all the other candidates. And yes, there’s nothing for free. You need to dedicate your time to taking a course to learn it and then passing the test to earn it. There are several certifications that you could get benefits for possessing, depending on what kind of job you’re looking for. In my case, I was looking for a job in customer service. So, here’s a list of certifications that I’ve come across that are required by employers very often:

  • Foodsafe Certification
  • Serve It Right Certification

Apply in person

I did some digging about landing a part-time job in Canada. Most of them say you can use Indeed to find a job. Yes, for me, Indeed might be a solid place to kick off your job, but on the other hand, I find it doesn’t work for me. Lots of people apply for jobs via Indeed, especially part-time jobs in restaurants, retail, or customer service. So, let’s say you find a job where you want to work and you click “Apply Now”.

My job page on Indeed

The problem is, you’re now in a long line with a bunch of other hopefuls. Do you really think the employer’s going to scroll through all those applications until they get to yours? I wouldn’t bet on it. So, I recommend you hit up Indeed to scope out the scene, but then take your resume and drop it off in person. That’s going to get you way closer to the manager than just being another name on a digital list.

Prepare for battle

From my experience, If I get a call for an interview, that means I’m already in the thick of things. So, I always make sure that I prepare myself before an interview. Have a look at my job description intensively and deeply. line by line. Doing some homework on the company that you’re going to interview with is really crucial. Here’s a trick I picked up; it’s like scripting. Keep in mind: speak only what they want to hear, and understanding the nature of the job that you’re applying for is a must. For example, I used to be a software engineer in my home country, and in my view, having problem-solving skills is a kind of asset, and I value this skill first. I thought I could put it into several areas of work because having critical thinking and good logic could solve any problem. But I kind of went way off the mark. Let’s say that in customer service, the skill that you must possess is the ability to make customers satisfied. Logic isn’t going to work for customers. Right? However, At the very least, during the interview, you must answer the following questions clearly, accurately, and perfectly:

  • Tell me about yourself
  • What do you know about us?
  • Why do you want to work with us?
  • What did you expect from working with us?
  • How would you deal with a difficult situation while working here?

Imagine the interviewer is your customer. Ensure that you will do everything to impress them and make them feel valued and appreciated. Show them that you are the right fit for their team. Keep this in mind: smile and always “make eye contact” with your interviewer during the interview. Lastly, always question them at the very end of the interview session.

Pray

This is the most important part. It’s very very important. I never knew that I got offers because of my abilities or that I was a lucky person. As I mentioned earlier, finding a job in this town is really difficult, so the last thing I’d think of doing is praying or doing an online Tarot card reading. You know, it’s like pretending you are a stand-up kind of person who never bullies or harms someone else, even the little critters, and the gods might have mercy on you. LOL, I'm just messing with you there. But this is a skill that I learned recently from my very best friend. I think it seems to work well, and it’s going to be my go-to move for making decisions down the road, no doubt about it.

I hope this will be helpful for you if you’re looking for a job. It’s not only for a part-time job in Canada. You can also apply for a full-time position in your home country. The most important thing is to “never give up.” Landing an offer might take a hot minute. I’ve seen someone who sent over 20 applications for a job and didn’t hear back from any of them. So, stay patient and don’t set any limits for yourself. Go for 50 or 100 as much as possible. Moreover, don’t forget to give yourself encouragement. Have a nice day! 🍀

Photo by Jake Givens on Unsplash

--

--