Five Apps to Make Your Apple Watch Less Boring

Not all complications are created equally. Here’s some apps that get complications right.

Holly Klingler
8 min readMay 13, 2023
Apple Watch Ultra with orange band and complications.
Photo by Alek Olson on Unsplash

I have a love-hate relationship with Apple Watch complications. I love the concept and have tried dozens of apps hoping to find ones that will continue to provide me with fresh, interesting, and frequently updated content right at first glance on the screen. Truth is, most complications really aren’t that exciting, dynamic, or informative. Many apps may offer complications, sure. But the content they provide doesn’t refresh very often, or worse yet, they don’t display any content at all. They are simply a shortcut to open the app, leaving you with one or more steps before seeing your relevant data or info. I know that complications don’t generally refresh constantly anyways, but I would like more dynamic options and info available. It certainly has come a long way since complications were introduced, but I think more can be done. I believe this because there are some apps out there really getting it right. They offer useful and rich complications with valuable data and content right on your wrist. They make it robust without feeling cramped on a small screen. They make the watch, well, less boring and even fun to interact with again. Here’s some of those apps I’ve found.

HELPFUL TIP:

--

--

Holly Klingler

Love to share my experiences to help others make more informed decisions that's best for them.