Do Not Forget This

A poem —

Holmespoems
2 min readDec 25, 2022
Photo by Amir Seilsepour on Unsplash

I used to write you down in glitter,
In letters and stories,
Ink so forlorn and engraved in love.
I made universes of you,
Like a true north I could see from afar.

But I think love is misguiding
Our souls for daughters and sons,
For friends and lovers of the sun,
Will never compete
With who we are.

Love is exhausting ourselves
To make dinner for someone else,
To put forth their lone nights and hunger,
When our own does not exist
Before us, before them.

And if we can find love
In hands and in paint,
In dust and the stars,
In the hopes and the must,
Why can we not find it in ourselves?

For we have chased worlds apart from our own.
And exercised our spirits away from home.
Run from all we’ve known.
Praying for what can only be shown.

--

--

Holmespoems

Writer, ponderer, and poet. Trying to change the world one word at a time. You can connect with me here: Instagram.com/holmespoems