Project 2: Exploring Light

Marlena Meow Hooks
3 min readMar 3, 2017

--

For my initial idea for my ‘time of day’ photos I wanted to do the sky from my balcony but I realized it just wouldn’t work by showing the time lapse. I decided to pick my happy relationship bear that hangs from my rear-view mirror in my car. I drive a lot; living a half hour + from campus so I knew I’d be able to get shots at any time of day.

Where light illuminates a subject or object, I love that I was able to get the morning sun glinting off the frost on the inside of the window pane. The texture of the glass globe light was really illuminated when the afternoon sun shone through. The glass cube windows made an interesting double-take shadow across the brick ledge that I thought was an eye trick. I noticed the sun illuminating ice crystals in the sky at a 22 degree angle and caught a sun halo around the side of Bruinicks Hall. From a distance, the sun shining off the bare tree branches looked like a bunch of white snakes.

The photos that show light as the subject or object proved to be a task for me because in the photos I was taking for it the light wasn’t actually playing as the subject it was merely accentuating the subject/object. Where the glass panes gave an interesting shadow, they also provided an amazing reflection on the ceiling as well as on the column where it was expressed as a different shape due to the conture of the pillar.

This was my initial photo of the sun halo but had to re-shoot it to fit assignment parameters.

--

--

Marlena Meow Hooks

Digital Photographer delving into Graphic Design at University of Minnesota. Experience with freelance work and publications.