Raine D.
2 min readSep 3, 2017

--

I’m over a month into a 100-day no alcohol challenge, and I gotta tell you, it has made zero difference in my life. Zero.

Hangovers never kept me out of the gym. (Here’s a secret: a high intensity workout actually gets rid of your hangover so doing crossfit the morning after a night of hard drinking allowed me to go to work without a hangover. Crossfit was my hangover cure.) Since drinking never prevented me from working out, not drinking has not improved my workout habits. Not drinking has also not improved my diet. I have not lost weight. I have not become more productive. I still do the exact same things socially, except now I do them sober instead of drunk.

Not drinking has been surprisingly easy. I did not plan. I totally winged it. As I told my therapist, it’s about as hard as not eating gluten and easier than being on a diet. I drink club soda, iced tea, and kombucha. Sometimes just water with cucumber slices.

If I hadn’t publicly announced my commitment to 100 days, I would have stopped by now. Initially, I was curious to see what cutting out alcohol could do for me. Now the experiment has been run, and the result is unimpressive. But I committed to 100 days so I will do 100 days.

After that, I’ll probably give myself a weekend off, and then restart another 100 days. Why? To make my therapist happy. (But don’t tell him. He would not approve of me doing anything for the purpose of making him happy. “You have to do it for yourself,” he always says. Yes, yes, but sometimes we do things for other people, and that’s okay.)

--

--

Raine D.

A woman trying to find meaning in life and make friends with her inner child.