The Cadets Drum Corps -The Three Peat

George Hopkins
30 min readApr 15, 2020

--

PART ONE of Eight — ( REVISED AND NEW INFO)
Longer read and a 30 minute video. ( link at bottom of page and here)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2yLk-FAY9A

Here is the video … Cesario discussing the Championships for 1983–85

As promised, here is Part 1, of an eight part interview/discussion with the designers and teachers of the Cadets 1983–84–85, the holders of the first Drum Corps International three-peat, and, beginning in 1983, the first drum corps on the East Coast, to claim a DCI title.

I promised a bit of story line , but I will admit that following the conversation is difficult.

Michael Cesario is the subject of this interview ( 30 minutes) and I will say, that we confuse years, we cross reference stories, and we forget and remember random actions and occurrences from what is now 35 and more years ago. Of note, this interview — all of these interviews were filmed in 2010 if I recall.

Rather than go through point by point , I thought what I might offer is a bit of background for each year. I will work to keep it short ( and that proved to not be easy or possible)

Pre 1983

I arrived at the Garfield Cadets in 1979 as a snare tech. My first rehearsal was at the Garfield VFW. Bill Kaufmann and Eric Landis were kind enough to take me along when they departed the Crossmen after I aged out of the Crossmen in 1978.

When we arrived, we had a good many drummers but the talent was not the best. The Cadets had placed 14th in 1978, and if I recall, the separation of scoring placement from the brass to the percussion was extreme. As we traveled back to PA after rehearsal, the three of us were a little concerned but, we were excited to have a quality brass section.

Week #2 came and when we arrived the first thing we noticed was that there were 25 brass. What happened? I was just a tech so I waited to hear and, on the way home, the reality began to sink in.

As it turned out, a good many of the returning brass players were NOT happy with the brass staff that had been assembled. I barely knew who was who but … it was clear the returning members wanted the teaching team who had been with them for prior years. Alas … this was not to be.

The brass line of 60 in weekend #1 was now 25 in weekend #2. OUCH!!!!

We did get back to the 50s eventually but it was difficult.

1979

1979

This year could have its own chapter, and it will , but in short, the Cadets entered the season having changed much of the staff, the drill had to be re-written early in the season, the students and the teachers worked overtime and after month and months … the Garfield Cadets finished 16th. Considering how the season had started … there was hope for the seasons ahead

Here is one story , one that will not ever be forgotten. I will edit for the purpose of being appropriate.

Shirley Whitcomb Turns Around

The Cadets first show of the summer in 1979 was June 9th in Rutherford NJ. The Stadium is just off Rte 3 as you come to the intersection of Rte 3 and Rte 17, just a few miles from what is today Met Life Stadium. It is not a big stadium. In fact it is rather small, even for East Coast high school stadium standards.

That evening the Garfield Cadets were not good. We were far from prepared. We still had holes in the brass line and guard, and well we knew, and this first event was evidence, that 1979 was going to be a long, hot summer.

After the show, we were listening to the tapes before critique, a time when all of the performing corps would have a chance to talk to the adjudicators regarding the evening’s performance. We had scored a 55.0 or so …. just a few tenths over a corps from NJ or NY whose name I cannot remember. For the Cadets, it was a very low score, shockingly low.

I listened to the visual effect tape as we did not have many of the “designers” at the show. I knew we had a kick-ass panel including Shirley Whitcomb, who was from the West Coast and was what you might call the matriarch of the adjudication community. And YES, Don Angelica, the judge administrator for Drum Corps International was there also.

I thought, considering who was on hand, I had best check it out. I was 22. This was the first performance I had ever viewed as a teacher and this was to be my first critique with the Cadets. I had indeed been in a few critiques before, as on occasion I would attend these reviews when I was a performing member of the Crossmen Drum of Pennsylvania.

With my little tape recorder, I walked in circles. After about 7 or 8 minutes of critical commentary Shirley say ( I am going to paraphrase) “I am going to turn around!!! I can’t look !!!! What did you do to this drum corps!” , She is beyond upset. I can hear Angelica in the background saying “Shirley … turn around”. Whitcomb yells back .. “ NO!! you can’t make me. I will not watch!! Oh my God. What happened”.

I was laughing a bit but my heart was pounding. I had never heard anything like this on a critique tape before.

I walked into critique and before I could move Shirley grabs me by the arm and pulls me into a corner. “Who wrote that drill?” she asked rather forcefully. I answered. “You need to throw him in the back of your trunk, take him far away, and leave him so he can never be near that drum corps again” . She was red. She was staring into my eyes. It was like nothing I had ever witnessed. I nervously smiled. “SO … you did not like it” I asked. She bopped me on the head!!!

“Seriously … can you get a new drill writer. You need to start over”, she directed. Don stood about 10 feet away just watching with his arms folded.

The staff of the Cadets who attended the critique and I, walked outside not sure what to do or say. Doc Santo came over to me and in a warm calm voice asked me, “How did it go”. “Well, I said, “Shirley said “We need to throw the drill designer in the back of my trunk, take him far away, and leave him so he can never be near the drum corps again”. Doc looked at me. I looked at him. There was silence. I waited for something … anything. Finally he said “Sounds like we have a problem” I looked at him. His eyes were blank. said. “Yes” . We agreed to talk the next morning.

I went off to talk to the drummers, Doc headed out ( we all lived about 15 minutes from the stadium) and we agreed review all the next morning before rehearsal at Don Bosco High School, in Ramsey, NJ. Other staff would be on hand including Bill Kaufmann and Eric Landis. We could formulate a plan.

I arrived a little early and Doc was waiting for me. “ Do you know any drill guys”, he asked me. “Well, I can start asking”. Remember now, I was 22, I just aged out and this was my first gig. BUT, I never missed a rehearsal, Doc and I talked a lot, and I think he was hoping I knew someone who might be crazy enough to do this!

I do not remember how, but, I got the name of Steve Buglino. He did work with the Sunrisers ( a senior corps from Long Island ) and my sources said he was crazy. We needed CRAZY.

Steve a few years ago. ( I could not find a picture of vintage 1979)
Steve a few years ago. I could not find a picture of vintage 1979 .. YET.

Steve took the gig and away we went. We redid the entire show. We drove the country in a piece-of-crap RV we found, we worked like dogs, and …well … we came in 16th. Steve saved us from a fate far worse !!!! He was the right guy at the right time. In retrospect, his agreement to leap into our mess was a blessing from above.

The problem now …

The Cadets did not make finals, in 1978 and now the corps had not gained entry to the finals event yet again. We had let a good many kids march for a little, and there were many alternatives other than the Cadets just in North Jersey. Our membership challenges would be many

The coming year, 1980, was NOT looking all that promising

1980

Color Guard — 1980 Cadets

The highlight of the year was the fact that there actually was a year, AND, the corps finished 10th. The Cadets returned to “the top 12”

I had been hired as the assistant director in September of 1980. Doc had secured a CETA ( Community Education Training Act) grant for $20K for one year and, being that was about what I made as a beginning teacher back then, I thought “ what the heck!!! let’s do it” .

There is much to talk about but ….

The Trips to Mississippi

It was April and the corps had a rehearsal in the gym of School #1 in Garfield. We had 12 brass. Now what? We had tried to recruit, we had talked of merging with the Royal Brigade, another NJ corps, through conversations with myself and Al DiCroce … we did try. But, when it came to brass players, it just appeared there were so, so many other options in the area.

I talked to Doc Santo, the director, after rehearsal, with nothing but frustration in my voice. I strongly suggested that we shut down the corps and let kids go to other organizations. Doc listened calmly and said he would consider the options.

That evening he called me at my home on 45 Lanza Avenue in Garfield. He agreed we should close the doors, but he was clear in his disappointment. He also kindly noted that as I was the personnel director, it would be me, that would have the burden of realizing I was the reason for this failure.

I hung up …. and I grew progressively more upset. ME? How the heck was this MY fault? Why would he say that? He knew I was trying?

Well … Doc may have known me?

I made a call to a woman who was a member of the color guard, Peggy Reynolds, who was indeed, one of our few out of state members. She was from Mississippi and she had said to me, if we needed kids, to come to Mississippi and she would help get us in front of bands. It seems she taught some bands in Mississippi and she was sure we would be able to get into band rooms across the South. After all, we were the Garfield Cadets.

The following Monday, Jim Paradise ( a guard instructor) and also my roommate, left for Mississippi. We did some presentations and we had interest. We went to 3 or 4 schools, and we made additional appointments. There was a glimmer of hope.

We drove home for rehearsal ( back in those days you rehearsed every week) and turned around on Monday and drove back again. And we did it again. And again. My poor VW Rabbit. When it died in 1982, as I was on my way to my godson’s christening in Brewster, NY, it had 120K miles on it. And yes … I purchased it in January of 1979 when I started my first job as a teacher

And poor me!!!! I was close to an amphetamine freak by the time the months of April and May were over. I was driving 2000 miles a week, teaching on Sunday, and heading back to Mississippi and eventually Louisiana on Monday. And, the last few trips I did alone. We left Jim in Mississippi to handle the arrangements, the parents and the questions. He did a great job.

As for me, I remember clearly, in late May, taking a shower looking in the mirror and counting my ribs. I weighed 163 pounds. YIKES!!!! Coffee and meds kept me awake and working. It was scary. Frankly, I did whatever it took to get the Cadets on the field. I was not going to fail!!!!

Don van Doren/Jim Prime

Jim Prime. Cadets 1980–1984
Don van Doren ( Cadets 1980–1984 and 1998–1999)

Remember, as I noted above, we were pulling 12 brass to rehearsals. While we recruited, it was really not getting much better at all.

At one point, Jimmer who was writing for the corps and still offering assistance, took a job with the Bayonne Bridgemen. I could not blame him. We had 12 brass players. But as the recruiting continued, it was important that we have a team in place to bring this all together. What IF, we really did have a corps?

One evening, Donnie Van Doren asked me to meet him face to face. I drove from Garfield, to Marple Newtown, PA, where we met at the Colonial Diner on Rte 3.

the Country Squire

I headed down, not feeling too good. I knew this could be a resignation. Donnie was and is, rather matter of fact, and I was expecting the worst. As I drove down, I found the location rather ironic. Indeed, The Crossmen rehearsed a good bit of the time at Marple Newtown HS and the gang would meet at the diner afterwards for food and good old drum corp talk. I spent many an evening there in 1977 and 1978.

I pulled in and Donnie was waiting. We ordered some food and he got right at it. What was up with the show? What was going on with the kids? Was I going to be able to pull this off? Don was kind but he was 24 or so, he wanted to teach and he had an offer to go to the Bridgemen also !!! Larry Kershner was the arranger at Bayonne, and he and Jim had worked with Larry at the Crossmen in 1979.

The moment of truth … He looked at me and said … “George. Are you or are you not going to have 56 brass players”. With total confidence I said “Yes. We will” . He responded, “ Ok. I am in. I am sure you will make it happen”.

We left the restaurant, shook hands, and he drive away. He was living in North Philly at the time I believe. (I headed towards my Mom and Dad’s to say Hi and borrow some money :-). As I was driving down Rte 320, I started to cry. “We have 30 brass. How the hell was I going to do this? I just lied!!!! Now what ? “ I thought. I pulled into Dairy Queen. As I sat there, I scribbled more ideas. I wrote down all that could go wrong.

I stared at the traffic. I remember speaking out loud to no one in particular. “Fuck it. We are going to pull this off” . I did not lie. I am just a little behind schedule.

I went to my Mom’s, walked in, got on the phone, called Jim Paradise, and made sure the next trip was scheduled and we and ready to go.

The Grand Arrival

Well … somehow, as the video attached will note, on June 1st, a host of folks from the South arrived and we actually began rehearsals. That same day in Bayonne, NJ …. the first drum corps show on the East Coast was underway. Yes, we began our work in earnest as the other Eastern corps were competing. What the hell were we thinking?

We worked and worked through the summer of 1980. We never looked up. We knew we were behind … the question was … could we catch up?

At times it was far from pretty …

Back in those days, all of the corps met in Whitewater, WI for an end of 1st season Showdown. Not all of the corps, but a good many. It tended to be a Midwest versus East dual for a while.

Here were the scores from finals

1 27th Lancers. 82.95

2 Phantom Regiment 82.000

3 Madison Scouts 80.25

4 Spirit of Atlanta 75.90

5 Crossmen 75.60

6 Cavaliers72.60

7 North Star70.70

8 Troopers 65.65

9 Blue Stars 64.10

10 Guardsmen 63.80

11 Sky Ryders 62.15

12 Garfield Cadets 60.45

The Cadets were 10 points behind the North Star, and were 15 points behind the Crossmen and 22 points from the top. AND … let’s not forget, not attending this show were the Santa Clara Vanguard, the Blue Devils, and the Bridgemen. Not to mention, the Freelancers and others.

We did make finals at Whitewater; that was perhaps a bit of a miracle but we were too crazed and young to make much of that supposed achievement. We had other dreams.

We headed home, the corps took a day off and then went back to rehearsals , and I went to see Don Angelica.

Don Angelica ( I hate this picture. At this juncture Don was not well and had lost a ton of weight)

Don will come up many times in my discussion of the 80’s . Don was my mentor, in so many ways. He introduced me to Broadway, the Symphony, Sondheim, Sushi, Michael Cesario, and so so so much more. He was also the judging coordinator for DCI and the assistant superintendent of schools in Bergenfield, NJ.

I went to his office the morning after we returned. I sat down across the desk from him, a few days after we placed 12th in Whitewater, WI, with a whooping 60.4. I asked “ Well … what do we do now”. He looked at me, shook his head, and without hesitation said, “Start planning for next year. You can get a head start”.

I walked away, head down, back to my basement apartment about a block away. I was humiliated, angry, beyond furious and totally beat down. All this work, weeks on the road cooking, teaching and driving, and he says see ya next year. “Asshole. We will see who gets the last say on this one” ( I may have used a few more choice words)

We went to work. We continued to make changes, we continued to teach … and we got better.

The moment where it all seemed to be working?

We had our last show in Gadsden, Alabama a few days before we went into Birmingham, Alabama for the Championships. We did well. We beat the Guardsmen, and we had a shot, at least a shot, at making finals.

I will always remember … the show was over, and I was walking across a dark field back to the stadium. I was checking on the souvenir people to see if they were ready to go. I was exhausted. We had traveled a ton of miles, I was driving a truck, I was 100% with the percussion section, and well … I had 60 kids on the road who had never seen a drum corps before they arrived from Mississippi and Louisiana to be a Cadet.

As I walked across the field I saw someone walking towards me. It was dark. I at first thought it was a kid, and I was about ready to be upset. They were all supposed to be on the buses. As the image got closer, I saw it was a man, and just as he approached, I saw it was Angelica. I had not seen Don since I left his office a month before.

He walked up to me saying nothing. He put out his hand, shook my hand, as his left hand grabbed hold of my forearm, he looked me in the eye, and said …

“You did good”. I said thanks. He smiled, and kept walking.

On to Birmingham.

Oh …. and the 1980 Prelims? First of all the Cadets were on 1st on Saturday morning. ( there were two day prelim show back in the day. The Cadets were on at 8 am and the last corps performed at 4:00 pm. And we did NOT know if we had made it, until the final few scores were posted on the board)

The results?

1 Blue Devils 90.40

2 27th Lancers 89.350

3 Spirit of Atlanta 89.000

4 Bridgemen 88.650

5 Phantom Regiment 87.650

6 Madison Scouts 87.300

7 Santa Clara Vanguard 87.050

8 Crossmen 83.600

9 Cavaliers 81.650

10 Garfield Cadets 81.450

11 Guardsmen 79.550

12 North Star 79.350

13 Blue Stars 77.050

14 Troopers 76.650

The Garfield Cadets were in the Finals. We had 12 brass in April, the corps had a bus filled with kids arrive in NJ on June 1st, and somehow, someway, the Cadets placed in the top 10.

And remember those spreads from Whitewater?

Here were the scores from Whitewater finals.

Let’s look at a comparison

Whitewater FINALS ( 1980) versus PRELIMS at CHAMPS (1980)

1 27th Lancers. 82.95 …. placed 2nd in Champ Prelims 89.35 (up 6.4 pts)

2 Phantom Regiment 82.00 -placed 5th in Champ Prelims 87.65 (up 5.65 pts)

3 Madison Scouts 80.25 ….placed 6th in Champ Prelims 87.3 (up 7.05 pts)

4 Spirit of Atlanta 75.90 ... placed 3rd in Champ Prelims 89.65 (up 13.75 pts)

5 Crossmen 75.60 …. placed 8th in Champs Prelims 83.8 (up 8.2 points)

6 Cavaliers 72.60 …. placed 9th in Champ Prelims 81.65 (up 9.05 pts)

7 North Star 70.70 ….placed 12th in Champ Prelims 79.35 (up 8.65 pts)

8 Troopers 65.65. …. placed 14th in Champ Prelims 76.65 (up 11.0 pts)

9 Blue Stars 64.10 … placed 13th in Champ Prelims 77.05 (up 12.95 pts)

10 Guardsmen 63.80 … placed 11th in Champ Prelims 79.55 (up 15.75 pts)

11 Sky Ryders 62.15. … placed 17th in Champ Prelims 69.7 (Up 7.55 pts)

12 Garfield Cadets 60.45- placed 10th in Champ Prelims 81.45 (Up 21.0 pts)

The Cadets rose 21.0 points !!!! Garfield rose past 5 corps, we gained 12 points on the Cavaliers, and we gained almost 13 points on the Crossmen.

WOW !!!! Indeed … we were on our way.

1981

Michael Cesario — Cadets Program Coordinator from 1982–1986. Consultant 1981

After placing 10th at Championships in 1980, the Cadets did have a bit more success recruiting students to the corps. The corps did not return a great many students from the “Mississippi effort” but, Garfield did begin to attract many from West Chester University, from area high schools, and from schools across the country. We had to work to fill the corps … but without question, we had a higher level of talent, we had a young, but more and more experienced staff, and … beginning in July of 1981, we had Michael Cesario.

Michael and his memories are included in the attached video so ….I will stick to a few that make me smile

Donnie Van Doren Sets a New Standard

Prior to Michael’s arrival, the Cadets performed at Bridgeport in early June. We were behind as might be expected but, at least we were out and performing :-). After critique, the staff met on a hill, in the middle of the parking lots. The buses were around the other side of the building.

The brass line was very good and it was clear they were going to be even better as the year moved along. (indeed, at finals, the Cadets tied for 1st in field brass and were third in brass overall). Donnie van Doren was pretty vocal and was a key force within the instructional staff. At the time, we were far from the visual powerhouse the Cadets would be come, so … it made sense to many, of not most, that as we worked to rise from 10th to a higher position within the DCI ranks, our focus should be on the musical presentation.

The meeting proceeded and eventually we arrived at a discussion of restaging the brass for the “concert number” FIRE DANCE. Donnie wanted redos in instrumentation. We talked, and talked. We had a rehearsal the next day … and people were looking for quick fixes.

I was inside the meeting but Donnie was pushing the agenda. As was his way, after too much talk, and the buses getting ready to leave, Van Doren pushed the issue. So … can we do this tomorrow? The “drill guy” was looking down, staring at charts, and looking flustered. Finally, he said … “ I do not see how I can do what you want”. I cringed. With but enough time for all to take a breath, Donnie responded, “Well … I guess we should get someone who can”. He looked at me. Silence.

“OK everyone … let’s get on the buses”. We have rehearsal tomorrow at 9:00 am”.

With an eye to Michael and my relationship ….

Changing Drill on the Fly

On July 7th, the Cadets were rehearsing at Garfield High School. We were to have a competition at the stadium the following day, with the Cavaliers and others from the Midwest coming East prior to the DCI East Championships at Allentown.

I had met Michael just a short time before ( see video) and this was really his first rehearsal. He and I were in the box, trying to add a little “something” in the way of EFFECT to the program. We had a bit of a hybrid show with Adventures in Time ( Stan Kenton) tied to Elk’s Parade and other jazz inspired pieces. We had made some adjustments with Michael’s guidance, adding a “down and dirty” ending to Elk’s Parade that was all about volume and a driving 3/4 rhythm.

It was good, but , Michael thought it could be better. Talking to me in the small box he asked “ why is the brass section back to far? Can we move them forward? I ran down to the field and talked to the “drill guy”. “Could we move them?” I waited. He looked. He said he would try. I walked back upstairs.

Michael and I were talking, he was giving me more thoughts and I was writing things down as fast as I could. Believe me, I was pretty much aware, as I had been a few weeks before in Don Angelica’s apartment, that this guy ( Cesario) knew things of which I had no idea.

I looked out and kids were here and there. Finally, I yelled down from the box, “ Can we do this”. The answer came back, “Not today. We can take a look at it down the road”.

I was not happy, and I was a little embarrassed. I leaned out of the box. “ Ok everyone, go back to your set”. They did. Basically, they were in a big semi circle. I yelled to no one in particular “ Everyone take 10 steps towards the center”. The arc shrunk, the form was disheveled, but so what. “Ok”, I said. “Let’s play the end again”.

They did. And it was good. Much better. Michael laughed as only Michael could, and I smiled.

We finished the rehearsal, we sat down and Michael and the visual guys figured out how to make it happen. We did …. and we were better and we continued to get better over the remainder of the year. We had a brass section. We were improving. We finished 7th

And now … we needed to look for the visual team to complement what we were putting together musically.

1982

Michael Cesario was the program coordinator beginning in 1982, but we needed the visual team. I have written the story often but the hiring of George, Marc, and Peggy was quick, it was complete, and without question, it was a hire that changed for most all time the fortunes of the Cadets

Here is a restatement for those who may have missed it?

Zingali, Marc, and Peggy

Donald Angelica, was my mentor for my first 7 years at the Cadets … he was at the center of one of my most critical decisions as the director of the Cadets.

One day, I was sitting in Don’s office at the end of the hallway, as I tended to do. He was the Assistant Superintendent of Schools for Berenfield, NJ and the Judge Coordinator for DCI. He was the artistic director for DCI and many a corps before we had such a title. Don’s office was a great place pre-internet to find out all that was happening in the world of drum corps.

As I wandered in, Don was on the phone, but I was not sure who he was talking to or what was going on.

Don hung up . He stared at me, and told me that George Zingali, Marc Sylvester, and Peggy Twiggs had been fired from the 27th Lancers. I listened. I asked why? I listened some more. After a few minutes I got up and told Don I had to get back to work. As I was leaving his office, Don yelled around the corner, “ DO NOT hire them. This will be NOTHING but trouble”.

I walked back to my apartment. I called Doctor Santo and told him I wanted to hire Zingali. He gave me the go ahead.

I made a few calls to get Zingali’s number and I made a call. George and I had met in 1978 when I was marching my last season with the Crossmen, as I was dating a member of the rifle line in the Lancers. George even pushed to have Charlie Poole bring me to “2–7” as a snare teach. Alas, God has a way of moving us in the directions that are best for us and others.

George answered, and we talked.

I hired the entire crew, all within 15 minutes. It was I would think, the most important hire I ever made with the Cadets.

As history will tell us, the Cadets leaped from 7th to 3rd in 1982, setting the stage for decades of success. Zingali, Sully, Cesario, Twiggs, Jim Prime and Donnie Van Doren …. and the list goes on. We were young, worked like demons, and we were all a bit insane.

Oh … when I went back to Bergenfield the next day to drive the van, Angelica was waiting for me at the front door. “I thought I told you not to hire Zingali” he said. I looked at him. I was nervous to say the least. “What? “, I said. “ I thought you said I SHOULD hire them”. He stared at me. I jumped in my van and drove away. We never talked about it again.

He knew damn well what I was going to do

Now, here is a little addition to the story.

Zingali And Alliance … OH NO!!!

In December of 1982, we headed to the Drum Corps International Winter Meetings in Chicago. We took staff, Doc Santo and I were in attendance and we were looking forward to a good weekend. With Zingali on board we were the talk of the town, and it was kind of exciting. Heck, my first meeting with DCI was just three years before in December of 1979, and every time there was an important issue, the associate corps had to sit in the Hallway. I remember, about the 3rd time in 3 days we were sitting outside, I told Doc Santo, “ We will never come back here again and NOT be in the room”. We never did and we never were. In fact, regardless of our position, I actually was the writer of a motion presented just a year or two later to open the “room” to the top 25 corps.

Back to the meeting …

George Zingali

Now, I knew that Zingali was also writing drill for the Alliance of Boston, but, I was not all that concerned. George assured me he was “just writing” and it would not be a problem.

We had been at the meeting a few hours, and as I recall, Doc Santo came up to the room on a break and I was sitting at a desk working. Doc asked me “ Does Zingali have a contract with Alliance that forbids him from teaching another drum corps?” I went blank. “ Ummm … well … No. Why would he do that? “ and then I started to wonder … after all this was Zinglali, and to say he was a unique was an understatement.

I found George downstairs and pulled him into a corner. “George. Did you sign anything with Alliance?” He stammered as he put his head down. “I think so”, he said. “ You THINK so” I questioned? “George … did it have a clause that said you could not teach anyone else?” Zingali answered back “Nah … I would never do that”. “Whew” I said, as I relaxed. I looked at him and I could see he was beginning to sweat. “Well, It might have something about that, but who cares. It’s fine” he said, and he ran away from me.

Welcome to the Hoppy and Zingali story that would continue for 7 years. He talked. I tried to figure out what the heck was going on, and we hing on for dear life.

As for this story, Doc and I talked to the director of Alliance, Frank ( I cannot remember his last name) and he graciously explained that he DID have an exclusive contract but he would waive the clause as he was not too sure George knew what he was signing, and well … it was Garfield.

So, we did share George for the summer. And I mean share.

One day we were at rehearsal and Zingali was wandering around the back of the field watching the guard. I was sitting in the stands. All of a sudden, I saw a cargo van pull up, I saw two people get out of the van, they talked to George, and he was gone. “What the hell”, I was stunned. Was he kidnapped? What the heck was going on. Peggy saw me racing out of the stands she caught me and told me that was the Alliance people. “Bastards” I thought :-)

A few days later, George was over with Alliance and we had work to do. So …. I grabbed my brother’s panel van, drove over, sat in the back of the field, until they took a break. I took off across the field, grabbed Zingali, tossed him in the back of the van, and I returned the favor. He was OURS!!! At least, for a little bit :-)

I kept my guard up for a van in the back of the field :-)

1983

Cadets Color Guard … 1983 — the Mass

We had kids. We had a good many students from West Chester University and with the corps placing 3rd in 1982, we were on the way.

Cesario will tell you the story of “THE MASS”. Jim Prime and Michael were the originators and yes, we did hold over Rocky Point for a season.

1983 was my first year as director and we had some tough times. All I can say is thank God we rented buses. We had so many transportation problems just with the trucks, and being as I knew little of what I was doing when it came to vehicles, … well … at least the buses rolled each night.

We won …. and yes we won 39 in a row only to come in tied for second in prelims. At finals, we put together what we needed, the percussion line hung in there … and we were the first DCI Champion from the East Coast.

A note …

Retreat and the Santa Clara Vanguard

Gail Royer was the director of the Santa Clara Vanguard. After the scores finals evening , he headed out to the parking lot, leaving the corps with the DM. Back in those days, we had full retreats. AND, back in those days, corps would sometimes play to the Champion.

Well .. Santa Clara, turned and played to the Blue Devils. Frankly, we were too young to know what was going on. The kids were standing at attention, I was with the staff on the sideline … and well … we just kind of stood there. I think we were too happy to be upset. Eventually alumni were complaining to me, Michael saw what has transpired but … we did not make a deal of it. Thank God there was no social media back then. The world would have exploded.

A week or so after we were home, I received a very nice apology from Gail. He explained that he was not on site and that others had made a very emotional decision ( SCV had won prelims). Mr. Royer and I went on to have a very rich relationship through the years and I have some pretty interesting stories from 1985, 1987 and 1989 that will be of interest to many. But that’s for another day

1984

Cadets Color Guard — 1984 — West Side Story

This was perhaps the most talented group of kids we ever had. Why do I say this? Well … we had a great corps, a great staff, a great show, and we barely rehearsed. Why?

We owned our own buses, they broke down daily, and it was a miserable summer. BUT … we were alive and we were good.

But why the heck did we buy buses when we were not ready to do so ??

A bus rental for 4 buses back then was about $100K if I recall. We could not afford it. We did NOT have the cash. On the other hand, I did some research and it looked like we could buy 4 buses for $100K. Not great buses, but buses.

George Hopkins gets a $125,000 loan … on his personal signature

Now … Could I get a loan? Oh, and I waited until May before I finally tried to do something. I guess I thought that eventually we would find the money to rent … but … we did not.

As I considered the options, I also had to work through the fact that the Cadets had some incomplete tax returns that had to be updated, the organization had no cash, and we had few assets. The board was more than in favor of the loan idea … for the sake of survival but no one was willing to guarantee the loan. As for me, I had no money, a car, a loan on the car and that was it.

Without assistance, I went to the New Milford, NJ Branch of United Jersey Bank. I had an appointment. I had created financial comparisons of the costs of renting and purchase, I had plans for the repayment, and the bank manager seems understanding. Granted, the idea of a drum corps traveling the country was foreign, but I think my youthful enthusiasm got me through. I had on my best, and only suit. How could he say no?

I received a call a few days later, and took a quick drive down to the branch office. I was informed that I would be approved, the Cadets would be approved, for $100,000 to be used for the purchase of buses. Awesome!!! I was smiling. We would receive a 5 year note. And all it took was my personal signature.

And then, the bank officer informed me that I would need to “put down” $25,000. He looked at me. I stammered.
He then told me, well .. “we could give you a one year loan for the $25,000. How would that work?”

“That would be wonderful”, I said.

He asked if I would be willing to wait for all of the paperwork? “Absolutely”.

Home I went with the completed paperwork, $100K in the bank, and well …. Now I had to buy some buses!!!! I even got a loan for the down payment. If I knew what I knew now I would have fell to my knees and thanked God. If not for that bank officer, the beginning of the next four decades might not have ever started

As for the buses, the nightmare of a summer travel, and some incredible stories of survival … stay tuned.

1985

Michael Klesch … Cadets Arranger from 1985–1992

Believe it or not, 1985 was not too bad when it came to buses. I think, we broke everything that could be broken in 1984 :-)

But all years have their stories.

Brass Arrangers and Michael Klesh to the Rescue

In August of 1984, after the DCI summer, Don van Doren’s mom passed away during some pretty standard surgery. Donnie was the brass caption head and so much more. Of course, he was distraught, as would any of us be , and he decided to take the summer off. With Jim Prime and Donnie being as close as brothers, Jimmer also decided to take the summer of 1985 off.

To say we were in chaos was an understatement. 1984 , although a victorious year, was a very difficult year. But, with the team back, and two titles in hand, we were ready to go.

And suddenly, we were losing two of the most vital cogs in the machine. NOW WHAT?

Eventually, we came to the realization Jim was not going to be writing. After discussion, I hired an arranger from NJ, and with Tom Hannum, and Michael Cesario leading the crusade, we began the transition to a new team, and a new approach.

We decided to open the show in 1985 with Pat Metheny’s “THE FIRST CIRCLE”. It was a big change but with the change in the team, we decided to shift our strategy. We were excited and working hard. We knew it would be a challenge but we were ready to move.

Well … we thought we were.

As we approached the first camp, we did not have any music.
We were understanding but nervous. The evening before camp Thom Hannum was at my home. We were talking about program ideas, playing other music, and well … worrying about what was happening. Finally, at about 10 pm on a Thursday night, we jumped in the car, took a drive and showed up at the arranger’s door. He answered.

We went into his home for a chat. Thom did a lot of the talking and we were as encouraging as possible. We also were pretty clear …. we needed music.

As camp kicked off, the next evening we did not have music.
No call. Ugh !!!!! Now what?

Well, Michael Klesh was at rehearsal as the brass caption head, taking over for Donnie, and after discussion, we asked … “Can you do this”.

Cutting to the chase, he agreed, we changed the show to do something Michael was far more excited about, and we took a hard turn to the “Jeremiah” Symphony. AND …. Michael did an amazing job, George Z, Thom, and the entire team did an amazing job , and well …. we had a three peat. We never expected it ; we did not plan on it; and we were thrilled.

So enough notes …. here is the link below.

Please …
take notes and send questions. You should have many !!!

And …
as I finish this I realize that the series may NOT be every day, but every other day.

There is just so much to share. It takes more time than I imagined.

Thank you all …. and I hope to hear from you!!!!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2yLk-FAY9A

Here is the video … Cesario discussing the Championships for 1983–85

--

--

George Hopkins

Life long member, teacher, and administrator of Drum Corps (from 1968–2019). Currently semi retired, while creating Act 2, an act that includes Golf and Running