Rakibul Hoque Helaly
2 min readNov 26, 2020

Pahela Baishakh 🤩

My long cherished dream to get a chance of visiting Dhaka came true at last. In the last summer vacation, I went to Dhaka with my father for celebrating Pahela Baishakh. Pahela Baishakh, the first day of Bengali New Year. It was celebrated a few days ago. It was a very grand occasion. Wearing Punjabi and pyjama, I went to Ramna Park very early in the morning with my father and younger brother. The Chhayanat began the first program at Ramna Batmul. The Cultural programme begins just at sunrise and the renowned artist of the country take part in the programme that starts with the famous Tagore song Esho-he-Boishakh, Esho Esho………… It was attended by a large number of people. There were some other cultural teams, too. They were singing in a chorus welcoming the month. Then I saw some young people joining a procession. They were singing and dancing. Some people eere found wearing masks. More processions came carrying festoons, placards, poster and banners. The Shilpakala Academy organized a colourful cultural function. Jatiya Press Club also organized a function. There was a huge gathering in the Mela which I visited. There, we ate Pantha Ilish which are a traditional food for this day. Returning home, I watched the live programs on TV. In the afternoon I attended a halkhata program in a shop. There was a flow of joy everywhere. Thus I enjoyed the celebration of last Pahela Baishakh.