Day 0: I’m Reading the Bible This Year

Megan Horn
5 min readAug 3, 2018

Out of the blue one day, I decided, “I’m going to read the Bible.”

It truly hit me out of nowhere, but the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to do it.

A year is a long time to do a single project…especially when the goal is to do a piece every single day. But I’m going to do it.

My Goal for This Project

I want to read the Bible with a completely open mind. Of course I’ll inevitably bring my own experiences into it, as we do with every book we read.

But I want to read it without preconceived notions. It’s been so long since I’ve opened the Bible that I hope I can read it with a fresh mind.

And of course I’m documenting my daily readings. Why? Because writing helps me reflect on and interpret what I’ve read.

I’m sharing it with the world (or the few of you following along) out of pure curiosity. I want to know what you think. Do you agree with my interpretations? Do you disagree? I want to know. I want a conversation.

On the other hand, if no one reads or comments, I’ll be perfectly happy upon completing a year-long project.

My Background with Religion

Even though I grew up in the church, I’ve never read the Bible. Sure, I followed along during scripture readings and know all the children’s parables. But I’ve never truly read the Bible.

--

--