Life after Warhammer

Has the crackdown on intellectual property by Games Workshop actually done me, and like-minded hobbyists, a huge favour?

Hotmess Hobbies
6 min readAug 15, 2021

As you may or may not know, Games Workshop —producer of Warhammer games 40,000 and Age of Sigmar— have updated their Intellectual Property (IP) guidelines. I know I’m a little late to the party with this one, but I had to take a moment to do my own research, find out how it impacted me, form my own opinion and figure out what my next steps in the hobby space will be based on my learnings. So with that let’s get into it.

On Wednesday, July 21, 2021, Games Workshop (GW) updated its IP guidelines; they’re worth reading for context if you haven’t already (Don’t worry, it’s pretty easy to digest, no law degree required). These new lines of legal cover everything from the infringement of recasting and 3D printing all the way to restrictions around fan fiction and everything in between. Heck, I’m only one post deep into this newfound blog writing adventure and I’ve already violated this new policy. While I understand the desire to protect intellectual property. It’s just kind of a bummer when all this red tape is being slapped on a community that is encouraged to be creative with the very products this policy is trying to protect. It’s all very confusing. The members of this community just want to create and share their passion for this hobby and in particular, Warhammer.

All this red tape is being slapped on a community that is encouraged to be creative with the very products this policy is trying to protect.

Since this news broke, I’ve heard of some people demanding boycotts, while others have decided to just shut up shop for the time being to see how all this plays out. As for myself, all this new information has definitely taken the shine off my once fond view of GW. These recent events have encouraged me to take a step back and take a glance at the world outside of Warhammer. A world I always knew existed, but never really gave the time or attention it deserved. So where to start? Since the beginning of the global pandemic, it seems like everyone under the sun has started making miniatures in some shape or form. However, I’ve decided to dip my toes into a brand I’ve had my eyes on but never ventured into for years; Privateer Press’ Warmachine.

I first stumbled upon Warmachine during my first attempt at getting back into the hobby roughly 10 years ago. At that point I thought myself to be in the right mindset to step out of the Warhammer ecosystem. But the style of the Privateer Press miniatures just didn’t speak to me at the time; coming off as over-the-top, and cartoony. Ultimately in the end I was blinded by the nostalgia of my childhood and the call of a new box of Space Marines. Fast-forward to today and my god, I need to have a chat with younger me.

The Warmachine miniatures oozy character. Something I feel has really been toned down in recent GW releases. You could say their proportions are a little weird in places and some things may come off as cheesy, but that's the charm of these miniatures. The Privateer miniatures aren’t afraid to do some visual storytelling. However, what I truly marvel at is how Privateer Press has not only been able to make each miniature or unit feel unique, but also maintain a cohesive visual appearance between all the miniatures of a single faction. This is particularly important to me as a painter who struggles with painting larger forces due to repetition fatigue. Exhibit A, any Space Marine army ever. Sure some Space Marines have capes and flowy bits, and some units may have different weapons. Yet at the end of the day, you’re still painting the same power armour for 90% of the miniature. This isn’t a concern with the Warmachine miniatures, the only carry over between them is the colour scheme; each miniature has a style all its own.

So where have I decided to dive into the world of Warmachine? Khador, big chunky robots, and greatcoat-wearing infantry all wrapped up in a wintery Russian aesthetic; It’s a beautiful thing. With that in mind on this inaugural exploration, I’ve selected the Battle Mechanik Officer (AKA, a mechanic in a steam-powered suit of armour swinging a big f*ck you wrench). To make things even better, he is cast in metal making him the first metal miniature I’ve worked on since a Space Marine Captain in the late ’90s. So once this guy is assembled he’s going to have some pleasant heft to him. Which, in my mind, just helps sell the vision that he is a total badass in an iron suit lumbering across the battlefield.

The last note I want to cover with this post is probably the least exciting of them all but it’s worth talking about all the same, and that’s price. I’m a huge advocate of downplaying the cost of an item (whatever that may be) as long as you get enjoyment out of it. However, at the end of the day, we all have limitations on disposable income for hobbies. Here in Canada, when picking up a single GW character, you’re likely paying somewhere between $40–$50 for that model. That’s a decent chunk of change for a single miniature considering a squad of 10 Primaris Intercessors is $60-$70 depending on where you get them from.

So how much did this Khador Battle Mechanik Officer set me back? A whopping $20 (well, $20.95 + tax if we’re going to be picky about it) for a finely detailed white metal miniature, which in fact is one of the more expensive solo miniatures from the Khador line to boot. Depending on what catches your eye some Privateer Press models can be had for as little as $7–$10. Which means I could potentially purchase 3 or 4 Warmachine character models for the price of a single Space Marine Character. Are those 3 or 4 Warmachine models going to fill me with the same fulfillment and enjoyment as a single Space Marine HQ? I’m not sure, it will likely depend on the day and my mood, but it’s food for thought when considering future purchases.

So now that I’ve discovered Warmachine, clearly I have no need to go back to the Corporate Evil that is Games Workshop, right? In short, no. While my perception of Games Workshop may have been tarnished, it’s not enough to prevent me from purchasing Warhammer miniatures in the future. I love their miniatures too much, and I’m just too invested in the stories and lore that surrounds everything to quit them cold turkey. Still, I’m glad I made the decision to take a leap outside of what I know and take a stab at something new. It’s a decision that’s now given me broader horizons explore. And to think, this may not have occurred if our community hadn’t been blindsided with legal restrictions. So with that, thanks GW, you’ve done me a solid.

--

--

Hotmess Hobbies

My thoughts, experiments and failures in miniature painting