Missed your last train?

How to Japan
4 min readDec 18, 2023

--

I missed my last train.

I will never forget the night I got trapped in a Tokyo train station. It was New Year’s Eve, and I had joined the massive crowd in Shibuya to welcome the new decade. This was before COVID changed everything. Shibuya was known for its parties. The city was alive with lights, music, and fireworks. We counted down the seconds and cheered as the ball dropped. It was a magical moment. I decided to go home, thinking I could catch a train easily.

Big mistake. I boarded a train, but it only went as far as Oshiage. The announcement said it was the last one for the night. I got off, hoping to find another way home. But the station was closing fast. The temperature dropped below zero, and all the shops were shut. The guards swept the place for stragglers. I tried to explain my situation, but they didn’t care. They locked the doors and pulled down a massive shutter.

I was alone in the dark, cold, and hungry. I checked my phone, but it was almost out of battery. I looked at the time: 1:15 am. The next train wouldn’t come until 6:30 am. I had no choice but to wait it out. I found a corner and sat on the ground, trying to stay warm. It was the longest night of my life.

I was a newbie in Tokyo, having lived here for only two years. I had recently moved to the Kanto region and needed more knowledge about how the trains worked. I had no idea there were places like karaoke bars or Internet cafes where I could wait comfortably. I was too scared to take a taxi, not knowing enough Japanese, how much it would cost, or how to direct the driver to my apartment. I had made a terrible mistake by not planning.

Missing the last train feels awful and isolating, but this advice below can save you a lot of stress, and if you miss your train, you can be warm and comfortable while you wait.

What can you do?

Depending on your plans for the following day, the time, money, and even the weather. There are things you can do to make your situation more manageable. You can call a taxi, stay at a hotel, go to a karaoke place, or an internet cafe. Many of these will also depend on whether you are alone or with friends who have missed their trains.

Take a taxi

You can get a taxi if you have work or other obligations the next day. Even after the station is closed, taxis may frequent the station for a while, waiting for people who need a ride home. Depending on where you are, it could be an expensive ride home, but it is necessary.

Go to a Karaoke place.

The next choice would be a Karaoke place. A lot of them are open very late into the night. Suppose you are just a few hours away from the first train of the next day. A karaoke place will provide you with a room and entertainment. It can be a pricey option, but you can split the cost if you’re with a group.

Go to an internet or manga cafe.

Another choice could be Internet cafes; these are excellent places to go alone. They have showers, warm beverages, comic books, and the internet. Internet cafes are a safe option if you have a long night ahead of you.

Hotels

If you have the funds and need to sleep, hotels are also an option. Business hotels are often inexpensive; most have toiletries, including a toothbrush, razor, soap, shampoo, body wash, and even pajamas.

Preventative measures

Here are some tips to prevent this from happening in the future. Before going out for the evening, find out when your last train is and one or two trains before that time. Set an alarm for the second to last train.

If you use Google Maps, give yourself five to ten additional minutes. Google Maps doesn’t always account for directions inside the train station. You will also have to deal with other people rushing to the trains. Some trains will wait a few extra minutes, but don’t count on it.

Conclusion

There are no twenty-four-hour trains in Japan; even in larger cities like Osaka or Tokyo, you can miss the last train. Missing your previous train can cause a lot of stress, but with some strategy and practical options, it can be easier to deal with.

--

--

How to Japan

I help people navigate daily Japan-life like a pro with advice and tips. Watch my vlogs on YouTube https://youtu.be/FpAkzBCbZr8?si=fS5UBt3dk8uQaWeH IG:how2japan