About me: the noob

Dowanna
2 min readMar 3, 2018

--

Hi everyone, I’m a Japanese software engineer noob.

After graduating a university in England with a mechanical engineer degree and working 2.5 years at Bosch as an automotive engineer, I decided to change careers, and work as a software engineer.

At the same time I decided to record my thoughts and experiences as a software engineer noob, because although I may have the chance to become a decent engineer one day, I will never have one to be a noob again.

Experts can never understand why noobs accidentally force push to the master branch, remove all data, cannot git clone, etc. (I’ve done all)

This is a problem frequently encountered in Japan, mainly because a job as a software engineer usually does not require a computer science degree here. As many enterprises suffer from shortage of workers, such requirement is seen unrealistic.

So noobs apply, and sometimes get hired. Like me. I didn’t even know how to open the terminal.

Since 2017 August, I’ve been working as an iOS engineer in one of the largest IT service company in Japan. Contrary to what I mentioned above, my colleagues are all experienced engineers (leading companies are seen as extremely popular employees in Japan), and it seems I was the first non-experienced software engineer to be hired.

So I hope the articles I write can help experienced engineers to understand how noobs think, what and why we cannot understand something.

Articles will be formatted as follows:

1: What I learned

2: How I came across this topic

3: What I didn’t understand

4: What I did

5: What I still don’t understand

6: Maybe a nice picture from Japan

よろしくお願いします!

--

--

Dowanna

CEO of Praha Inc., an IT startup in Japan. Also an iOS / web-front engineer. https://praha-inc.com