Howard J. Eagle
7 min readSep 4, 2023

--

Response To Rochester City School District (RCSD) Superintendent Carmine Peluso Regarding His Unbelievably Offensive Letter Below

August 31, 2023

Dear Mr. Peluso,

I hope this response finds you well.

I am absolutely baffled, but then I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised by your unbelievably-condescending, paternalistic, hegemonic, offensive letter (below), relative to “the 2023–2024 Racial Equity Advocacy Leadership (REAL) team” (I see you got the name right this time, last time you didn’t).

“At this time, [I] have not been selected as a member of the 2023–2024 REAL Team???” WHAT???!!! I am an architect of the REAL team, and of the RCSD/Community Racial Equity Action Plan (with six consecutive, consistent years of FREE-sweat-equity-investment). Had it not been for me and a few others whom I work closest with, there would be no REAL team. We saved it, as the two previous RCSD Administrations that preceded yours, attempted to dismantle and crush it, just as you’re doing. What do you know about my knowledge and expertise regarding the Tripartite Beast And Illness of Individual, Institutional, and Structural Racism within public education, including the RCSD, and how much knowledge and expertise of the same do YOU have??? Did you know that the depth and breadth of my anti-racist…

--

--