TTID…This Time It’s Different

howardlindzon
1 min readAug 27, 2017

--

I am in Maine this week with Ellen and Max. I have never been to the coast of Maine and it is beautiful.

Today was a big day as we dropped Max off at school. Ellen and I are officially empty nesters.

Our first empty nest run together was in Kennebunkport (which has cornered the market in pastel cardigans).

I took a picture of this yacht today while jogging on the beach and shared it on Twitter asking people to name it for me.

The answers are as usual…hilarious. Scroll through them. My favorite was from Raju who said I should call her:

TTID (This Time It’s Different).

Sir John Templeton wrote “16 Rules for Investment Success” in 1993. The most quoted passage over the years since:

The investor who says, ‘This time is different,’ when in fact it’s virtually a repeat of an earlier situation, has uttered among the four most costly words in the annals of investing.

I am hearing a LOT of TTID these days.

We have not had a big correction in the S&P (other than election night) for ages.

We have the crypto and token boom.

We have liquidity up the wazoo.

This time is NOT different, but it sure has been enjoyable.

I am grateful to have a wide community of people to enjoy this boom with me.

Originally published at Howard Lindzon.

--

--

howardlindzon

I have a FREE daily blog you can sign up at HowardLindzon.com ... Chairman and Co-Founder of Stocktwits..GP of Social