Spain Segovia (1)

Aqueduct, Cathedral

Chocolate covered Strawberry
6 min readJun 29, 2024

While I was in Madrid, I wanted to take a day trip to the surrounding areas. Segovia and Toledo were the most recommended, and I found out that both are located close to Madrid. Upon further research, I discovered that there were one-day tours to Segovia and even trips involving hot air balloon rides.

When looking up information about Segovia and Toledo, I found out that all three places, including Madrid, frequently experience showers. Fortunately, during my visit, although it was cloudy at times, it didn’t rain.

Getting from Madrid to Segovia

To go to Segovia, I went to Moncloa Station on Line 3. To ride the metro, you need a metro card, which can be charged for single trips or with a T10 card that preloads 10 trips. The T10 card is cheaper than buying 10 single tickets. However, since I mainly moved around the area near my accommodation, I didn’t buy the 10-trip card. Each metro trip cost 4.50 euros.

The turnstiles in Madrid’s metro are similar to the old ones in Seoul. Also, passengers have to open the doors themselves when getting on and off the subway!

Upon arriving at Moncloa Station, I followed the signs marked “Isla 1” and walked straight ahead.

Following the signs, I found the ticket office for Avanza (marked with a burgundy-colored sign on the upper left). After purchasing a ticket, I took the escalator up two more floors. It was relatively easy to find. Since I wasn’t sure how much time I would spend in Segovia, I only bought a one-way bus ticket. The ticket from Madrid to Segovia cost 4.60 euros.

I went to the bus boarding area and stood in line, waiting. As the departure time approached, more people lined up.

After about an hour of driving, the bus arrived in Segovia.

The bus terminal in Segovia was small and cozy compared to Madrid’s. There were about four bus platforms. As I explored Segovia’s city center, I didn’t feel like visiting cafes or restaurants, so I checked out the bus terminal restroom, which required payment.

Upon exiting the terminal, the warm sun greeted me. However, there was a breeze, and the shade provided a cool respite, making it a perfect day despite the sun.

Segovia is dotted with ancient and medieval architecture such as the Roman-built aqueduct, the Alcázar fortress, and the cathedral. The Roman-era aqueduct and Romanesque-style buildings are well-preserved, leading to Segovia being designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1985.

After leaving the bus terminal, it didn’t take long before I spotted medieval buildings. Segovia is small enough that there was no need to take a bus or taxi.

I saw a medieval-style cathedral and decided to go inside. Despite the blazing sun outside, it was pleasantly cool inside the cathedral.

I walked from the cathedral to a spot where I could see the aqueduct. Along the way to the aqueduct, there were restaurants on both sides of the street, and there were many people having lunch.

Segovia Aqueduct

As I got closer to the aqueduct, its size was truly impressive. It’s amazing to think that people built something so monumental.

The aqueduct was built during the reign of Roman Emperor Trajan (reigned 98–117 AD) and served the purpose of supplying water to the highlands until 1906. Wow… it’s truly astonishing that it was constructed almost 2000 years ago.

I wanted to take a picture of the aqueduct to fit it all into the photo frame, but it wouldn’t fit in one frame.

I took a picture of the aqueduct from a distance and then climbed up the steep stone stairs and hillsides to get closer. Standing next to the aqueduct, the stones were enormous, making me feel quite small in comparison.

While I was there, a Chinese tourist saw me taking photos alone and kindly offered to take a picture for me. They even suggested poses, and we took a picture together, capturing a distinctly Chinese vibe in front of the aqueduct.

Segovia Alleys

After taking photos, I slowly wandered into narrow alleys.

I began to encounter residential areas where the alleys were incredibly narrow, barely wide enough for even a small car to pass through.

Then, I came across another impressive cathedral and went inside to take photos, only to be scolded in Spanish… It seemed like they were saying I shouldn’t take pictures. In Spain, you really have to be careful and respectful when taking photos inside cathedrals!

Walking around alone, I often felt limited by relying on selfies. It would have been nice if someone could have taken photos for me continuously, but unfortunately, that wasn’t the case, which left me feeling a bit disappointed.

So, I had been considering buying a selfie stick and thought about checking out Spain’s version of Daiso, which is Ale-Hop, a place known for selling various electronic gadgets and knick-knacks at affordable prices. I decided to browse there and ended up buying a selfie stick.

The price difference compared to Amazon wasn’t significant, and the selfie stick I got was Bluetooth-enabled, lightweight, and compact, making it convenient to use.

On the way to the cathedral and Alcázar, there were many clothing stores, branded shops, restaurants, and dessert shops. It seemed like these shopping streets developed due to the large number of tourists.

After purchasing the selfie stick, I resumed exploring. The narrow alleys were bustling with souvenir shops and crowded with people having lunch, creating a lively atmosphere.

Catedral de Segovia

As I walked a bit further down the alley, I came across a large square with the cathedral visible on the left.

The cathedral was indeed very large. I didn’t find it particularly interesting to go inside, so I took photos of the exterior and followed where the people were going.

The cathedral was built in the Gothic style between 1525 and 1768, boasting impressive dimensions of 50 meters in width, 105 meters in length, and a spire height of 33 meters. It is a masterpiece of late Gothic architecture in Spain, renowned for its elegant design, often referred to as the “lady among cathedrals.”

As I climbed a slight hill and then descended along a steep path through various alleys, I suddenly caught sight of a vast plateau and the Alcázar.

--

--