Spain Segovia (2)

Alcázar de Segovia

Chocolate covered Strawberry
4 min readJun 29, 2024

Alcázar de Segovia

The Alcázar is believed to have origins dating back to Roman times.

As soon as I saw the Alcázar, it felt like stepping into Disneyland. Upon researching, I found out that the Alcázar served as a model for the castle in Walt Disney’s Snow White, and it’s sometimes referred to as “Snow White’s Castle.” The Alcázar has designated entry times.

I checked for the earliest entry time and prepared to buy tickets, but when I opened my wallet, I realized I didn’t have any bills — only coins. I distinctly remember having bills when I bought the selfie stick in Madrid. While taking photos around, I felt someone touching my bag and quickly turned around. A girl looked surprised and hurried away in another direction, which I thought was an attempted pickpocketing that failed.

Thinking back, it seems she managed to take my money and sunglasses case. Luckily, I still had my sunglasses, but losing the money left me stunned for a while. I needed to return to Madrid, and I had only a few coins left. Thankfully, I had connected my credit card to Apple Pay, so I could use that to manage.

I can’t believe I got pickpocketed! I felt safe amidst the crowds of tourists, but it seems someone took advantage of the bustling environment for pickpocketing.

I was so careful, but let my guard down for a moment and got robbed. 😞

I first bought a ticket to enter the Alcázar and went inside. At the entrance of the Alcázar, there were cavalry guards on horseback, which made me feel like I had stepped back into Roman times.

Inside the Alcázar, it truly felt like stepping into a scene from Snow White. The ceilings were adorned with gold, and the murals and stained glass on the walls were beautiful. Even the shapes of the windows and window frames reminded me of Snow White’s castle.

As I ascended to the upper floor, I could see the expansive plateau behind the castle all at once.

I could see the columns of the castle up close, each one adorned with rugged yet intricately crafted pointed decorations.

The courtyard of the castle was relatively well-lit, with sunlight streaming in and the white marble making it look even brighter.

The Alcázar is located at a dead end, marking the end of the Segovia tour. After leaving the Alcázar, I retraced my steps back the way I came.

I originally planned to have food in Segovia, but feeling upset after being pickpocketed, I decided to just return to Madrid.

I took a different alley back, which seemed to be the end of Segovia, revealing the vast plateau all at once. The sunlight filtering through the clouds illuminated the expansive plateau and the restaurants nestled at the end of the hills, making Segovia’s warm terracotta hues even more inviting.

Back at the bus stop, I used Apple Pay to pay for the bus back to Madrid. If it weren’t for the pickpocketing incident, Segovia could have been a much better memory. Returning from Segovia, it was already around 3–4 PM. I satisfied my hungry stomach with instant noodles I had brought along, took a short break to do some remote work, and planned to go out again later.

--

--