Generic photo to make Medium Happy Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

What I learned from writing 100 articles on Medium and Social Media

Medium is indispensable and I’d recommend it to anyone

Hugo Lu
7 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Introduction

The background to me writing on Medium was that I often used it to learn things about Data Engineering and Data Science by reading articles on Medium as inspo. The Publication, Towards Data Science, has a readership of almost half a million — I wasn’t alone.

As someone working in an exciting and fast-paced industry, with a lot of technical innovation, Medium provided me with an enjoyable outlet to discuss things I’d not normally have a chance to.

A short while after, I founded a company called Orchestra, which is in the Data Space. It’s a notoriously “busy” space, so in addition to writing on Medium I started producing more content to increase mine and Orchestra’s profile on Substack, Linkedin, and Youtube.

The results were pretty incredible.

The stuff I liked

Medium is incredible

Turns out it wasn’t just me that came to Medium for learning and light relief. After writing my third or fourth article, I got a shout out from Ali Ghodsi, the CEO of Databricks.

--

--

Hugo Lu

I write on Data engineering and the coolest data stuff. CEO@ Orchestra, the best-in-class data pipeline management platform. https://app.getorchestra.io/signup