Why Your Feline Needs a Cat Tunnel

Humane Goods
6 min readJan 30, 2020

--

Does your cat need a tunnel to play in? If you asked your kitty this question, she would definitely say yes! Felines think tunnels are “the cat’s pajamas.” Let’s explore why cats love tunnels, and what to look for when purchasing one for your pet.

My cat, Snowbelle enjoys her Large Cozy Cat Tunnel by Humane Goods.

Exercise and Play

On the hunt: kitty attacks a toy in her cat tunnel.

When it comes to kittens, play time means everything! If you have a young cat, you know that your pet is full of energy and needs constant stimulation. I’ve volunteered at several animal shelters and I have cared for feline friends of all ages. Playtime is an absolute necessity for kittens, and a cat tunnel gives them the stimulation they need by allowing them to peek, play, hide, and seek.

While everyone knows how frisky kittens can be, even the most devoted “pet parents” may forget about how important it is for adult cats to play, explore, and be physically active. I rescued my adult cat, Snowbelle, about 10 years ago. Since I’m with Snowbelle every day and her body’s changes were gradual, I was surprised when I realized that she was overweight.

It’s very common for indoor-only cats to become overweight. Think about it: we give our indoor cats plenty of food, and we keep them safe from the dangerous outdoor world, which significantly decreases the lifespan of cats. However, what we don’t always give our indoor cats is sufficient opportunity to exercise. According to Pet MD, “the most common cause is an imbalance between the energy intake and its usage; that is, the cat is eating more than it can possibly expend.”

My concern about my cat’s weight grew as I realized that she had developed Type II diabetes. Believe me when I say that you want to protect your kitty from that disease in any way that you can. Ask your veterinarian about nutrition and ways to encourage your cat to be active. Providing toys like a cat tunnel is a great way to keep kitty on the move!

Today, Snowbelle is at a healthy weight and her diabetes is under control. I attribute Snowbelle’s improved health to her insulin, changes to her diet, and added exercise opportunities. Her cat tunnel gives her a variety of ways to play. She loves to run through it, scratch it, dart in and out of the openings, and to pull and chase the dangling toys attached to it.

Safe Snoozing

Time for a stretch, then crawling in for an afternoon nap!

Cats are well-known for snoozing the day away in warm, comfortable spots. In fact, Animal Planet reports that the average domestic cat sleeps for 16 hours every day. Keeping this information in mind, it is extremely important that your cat has multiple spots throughout your home in which she can sleep contentedly.

A great napping spot for your kitty should be warm, relatively quiet, soft, and convey a feeling of safety. Because cats still have a lot in common with their wild ancestors, they need to feel protected and secure when they sleep. While your home may not contain any natural predators, your cat’s instincts still tell her to sleep in a safe spot and to not take any chances. If you have frequent visitors, a shy cat, or multiple pets, it is even more important that your kitty feels that she can nap in peace in a protected place.

Offering your cat a cozy cat tunnel is a great way to give her a private bedroom that feels secure. I especially like cat tunnels which provide a “lookout hole” in the middle. These openings will allow your cat to keep an eye on her surroundings, even when she is inside of her tunnel.

When I first bought a cat tunnel, it was definitely a play place! Over the course of a week, however, my cat decided that the tunnel was also a safe spot for sleeping, and it has become her favorite place to doze off. Any time we can’t find Snowbelle around the house, we say, “Yep, she must be napping in the ‘cat tube’!”

As an added bonus, having her own tunnel keeps Snowbelle from waking us up at night. For the first time in a decade, I can shut the door to the bedroom and sleep soundly without being stepped on by little cat feet. I wish I had bought a cat tunnel sooner!

Personal, Private Space

All done with “kitty time” and ready to socialize.

Speaking of boundaries, we all need them. Just as I prefer to sleep without being disturbed by my pet, she also likes to have some “me time.” Any cat owner is familiar with the feline desire to have some space now and then.

Whether or not you have multiple cats in your home, a cat tunnel provides a “kitties only” zone. It’s a wonderful place for cats to have some reprieve from people, noises, larger pets, and general commotion. My cat loves having her own private hideaway.

I love the Snowbelle’s cat tunnel includes sisal material for her to scratch. Since the cat tunnel is hers, she is welcome to mark it with her claws whenever she wants. It’s great that she can claim her territory this way. The sisal scratchers keep her from claiming my territory — specifically, the leather couches in our home!

Tips for Choosing the “Purrfect” Cat Tunnel

Based on my experience shopping for and owning cat tunnels, here are the questions to ask in order to select the best cat tunnel:

  • Do you actually like the tunnel? Let’s face it, if the tunnel is ugly, you aren’t likely to want it in your home. While the color of the tunnel doesn’t matter to my cat, I wanted a neutral tunnel which would blend with my decor. Sometimes cat toys and cat furniture have wacky patterns and outrageous colors.
  • Is the tunnel large enough? Your cat should be able to easily enter and exit the tunnel. Check the measurements of a cat tunnel before purchasing it.
  • If you know where you are going to place the tunnel in your home, make sure that the tunnel isn’t too long to fit. Keep in mind that you may decide to move the tunnel if you rearrange your furniture in the future, or if your cat is fussy about its placement.
  • What material is the tunnel made of? For example, does it include soft fabric to ensure comfortable sleep? Does it feature any rough material to encourage scratching?
  • Also, check the weight of the tunnel. Tunnels made of heavy materials may be difficult to move.
  • Does the tunnel have extra features? You may want to look for toys attached to the openings of the tunnel, or a “window” in the middle.

For me, the Large Cozy Cat Tunnel with Sisal Scratch Pads from Humane Goods met all of my specifications. It was an excellent choice for my cat, and for myself. The tunnel is available on Amazon at a very reasonable price, and Humane Goods even donates a portion of their profits to local pet shelters! I would definitely recommend this cat tunnel to other pet owners — it’s my top choice.

Laura Kathryn Bright,
Cat Mom

Check out it out on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07W78QGG1?ref=myi_title_dp

--

--