Grandma’s Recipe

Huong Nguyen
2 min readOct 25, 2021

--

The spring caused the awakening of a morning

Where my grandma would wake up at 3am

Her cheeks blushed from the cold winds

As she chanted to the Rosaries to start her morning.

First, smile more.

She’d often smile to the mirror

Reflecting the crinkles and the trembles

In her eighty years.

She’s always told me that I am a beauty queen

And as queens

We smile and keep our chins up

We don’t look down.

Drawing done on IPad SketchBook by Huong Nguyen

Second, always sprinkle extra.

Whether that is traditional bánh mì for breakfast,

Or red velvet cakes

We’d always have extras after we are full.

She taught me to cook

And thanks to her,

I’d always cook extra

It is our way of saying, I love you so much.

Third, words.

Being one of the most respected language scholar in Vietnam,

People used to grasp onto her words — her wisdoms fill a room

Yet, this wisdom did not last forever.

As she walked to supermarkets in America

Her words trembled into a “thank you”

As the cashier grew impatient of her slow feet

And the people in our backs saying she should’ve “stayed back.”

She knows these “weaknesses”

Yet she knows she is more valuable than them

She chose to be kind when good words were scarce

And show me how words can hurt, even for an 80 years-old, experienced scholar.

--

--