LINCHPIN

Husnainaleee
2 min readOct 25, 2019

--

“linchpin” is a person vital and irreplaceable to an organization.

There are plenty of people (mostly women) who are gifted by special skills but they cannot utilize their gifts because of the lack of resources.

I want them too, to be considered as the linchpins in any organisation.

This thought came in to my mind when I met an old lady in my neighborhood. It was my final exam project that, make a dress by using hand weaved fabric. I weaved fabric by using threads on a hand loom. Now ,I was looking for an expert tailor who can handle this fabric beautifully . My mother suggest me to approach an old lady who lived in my neighborhood. I visited her home and talked about my project. she said “mostly I used to stitch simple shirts or trousers, I can stitch this dress but you have to guide me”.I was confused because I don’t wanted to take a risk after all it was my final project but time was short so I decided to guide her.

After 3 days when dress got stitched I was amazed because of her magical skill, dress was looking excellent. She don’t have many clients just because she was not updated with fashion trends.

Other than her there are many other talented people who do not have resources or platforms. Such as women in our villages and slum areas who are very good with embroidery, stitching, weaving, product design or many other techniques or skills and students of art colleges who can’t bear their expenditures who do not have such resources or platforms.

There are many “linchpins” in our society we just have to appreciate them by providing them a platform.

I have an entrepreneurial idea which is making new affordable fashion products by re using waste or useless fabrics.

#scrap to fab

Every product you buy, a beautiful change is happening for the hands that created it.

so here we can work on two problems of our society.

  1. Unemployment
  2. Environment pollution

--

--