Why Assuring Software Quality is Important

Hussain Naqvi
2 min readMay 5, 2024
Photo by Ferenc Almasi on Unsplash

A few months back, I got to know that a prestigious bank organization was hiring for their Management Trainee Officier and required a few graduates with Computer Science Background as well. I went ahead and applied for the post. I got the link for their “interactive test” in no time. To my surprise, the test was majorly based on general assessment and did not include any Subject knowledge. The test was entirely based on playing scenario-based games where one have to choose the answers from the given scenarios.

While I was going through the test, I thought why not explore this WebApp? And this is where I got excited. I was exploring multiple things from “Chrome Developer Tools”. Among these one API request caught my eye which contained a JSON payload. That JSON was responsible for the questions & multiple options that would be used to display the user through the front end. But there was one additional field just after the multiple choice options and that was “correct Answer”. I started filling in those options just to check if they were correct which they were after receiving the results.

Lastly, after clearing the first two initial screening interviews I was asked to come for the last final interview which I also cleared(mind that I turned down the opportunity was I did not feel was the right option to choose). I sarcastically appreciated the interactive test methodology(which was no doubt a great initiative) and the interviewer replied to me with a smile: “That product was outsourced”.

An organization which such influence should integrate third-party products but with a surety that no data is being leaked and proper encryption mechanism implemented for the payload coming from APIs.

--

--