Steampunk DeathStar

The Crux of Education

Education ain’t mundane

Arijit Bhattacharya
3 min readOct 20, 2013

--

I studied because my parents wanted me to and I was worried because there were exams. This sums up my academic life. Looks like free will(if it exists) and fun were never a part of it except I met a pretty girl in my school bus. Lately, being in my early twenties, being just handed the baton of manhood, gathering up some dreams, I thought, finally, I could think for myself. It may be a bit too late for the metaphorical ‘kid moving out of the house’ stuff. But be a little gentle here, you see I am an Indian(my voice is usual and devoid of any pride here) and nobody can tell you better about how affection and parental bonding can spit venom on a kid’s self preservation.

I started thinking about basic things. One of the essential things is knowledge, what we may understand as education.

Education = Exam = Not so motivational and absolutely boooring
(unless you were a weird kid, hungry for marks, damn you!)

This holds true for my younger self. And I am almost sure I am not the only victim.

We entered this box and stayed in there for twenty years. The only hope, we will all come out enlightened at the other side. Even the health drink ads participates in this lie. But what happens is education becomes just another drag. I feared exams and I studied out of fear. The years passed by seems like small bursts of masochistic infotainment sessions. Let’s memorize the formula, learn that definition, just the importants will do and now mother brings me milk because tomorrow is my exam.

The highest motivation a father can provide, even though he knows his child is hopeless in studies is, “if you come first in class, I will buy you that new Hot Wheels”. WOW! Funny. Its like if you become the president, some how Marilyn Monroe will appear and Indians are too shy to discuss their fascinations except Kamasutra happened.

Exams are shortcomings of the academic system to validate knowledge of a student population. There is nothing noble and valiant about it.We shouldn't try to conquer it. Ideally, everyone should be invested in themselves, external validation is just a superficial activity and a complete waste of time. In my land, it was merry time for teachers, they could just gossip.

One crucial realization that was absent in my younger self — why we do things are much more important than what we do.

Generally, we study because we have exams or we have to get admitted to our favorite college or brag about our working place. I think they are all wrong reasons. We benefit from knowledge throughout our life. Its an endeavor which is an end in itself. Education is not a means to other things that helps you sustain a lifestyle but it is a thing in itself. It brought about civilizations, enlightenment and technology.

We should study because of our reverence for knowledge. The incentive of learning should be learning itself. There is an innate pride in, ‘I Know’.

Education isn't limited to learning facts and answering known questions repeatedly. Yes, learning facts is a fat part of education. But we do so, only to create a context rich enough to support framing new questions and expressions. Education is not a passive activity where you are not allowed to leave any imprint. In fact education is about learning to ask new questions and participate in collective intellect.

It even can be a 24/7 lifestyle if you want.

Without any doubt, schools and colleges will continue to exist, but every individual has the right to decide the purpose of their education.

The crux of education is deliberate thinking, creativity and innovation. And I am afraid I never did much of them in the past years. But its never too late, I guess.

--

--

Arijit Bhattacharya

Self learner, JavaScript performer, Minimal design practitioner, Honest effort admirer. Frontend human @Freshdesk