Auto vs Manual Mode

Paula Soto
3 min readFeb 16, 2016

--

Paula Nichole Soto (2016)

There are so many settings on cameras: ISO, aperture, shutter speed, focus, the list goes on. They can be a bit overwhelming (trust me, I know from experience), especially for new photographers and because of this, many new photographers find it hard to venture into the world of manual shooting. If you’re shooting in manual, you may find that it can be especially tough to get a great, or even decent, photo of your object. Auto-mode is quick and easy and yes, you can still capture beautiful photos in auto-mode. If I may offer my honest opinion, it would be that if you want to grow as a photographer, it’s important to learn how to shoot in manual mode. Hilman Curtis, a famous filmmaker, writes the following about shooting in manual for the first time:

“Another goal I set for myself was to become comfortable enough with the camera to shoot in manual. This meant switching everything “auto” on the camera off: auto focus, auto zoom, auto iris and shutter speed, an auto white balance. This can be risky when you are new to using a camera: you might misfocus or forget to check your white balance as the light changes. But with manual you can dial in a much richer shot, and it forces you to stay connected with your camera throughout the shoot.”

Shooting in manual mode is a lot like getting to know someone on the first date: you find yourself asking so many questions, digging deeper and deeper until you have an understanding of the person or in our case, the camera. The way I became adjusted to shooting in manual was by playing with the settings on my camera (trial and error) and watching many, many YouTube videos which clarified what aperture and ISO was. My first few results? Overexposed, underexposed, and motion blurred photos. I will admit, it took a long time to finally capture a decent photo. But when I did, I knew I was doing something right. So I continued on the exciting journey. I felt like I was getting to know my camera more and more and not only that, but I was improving my skills too. I guess you can say I was really connecting with my camera, like Hilman Curtis stated above.

Shooting manual is both fun and exciting. It gives you the chance to show your creativity and gives you the option to get the most out of your camera. If you’re interested in hearing more on why manual is the preferred way to go, Courtney Slazinik, fellow photography blogger, lists five great reasons here. She makes great points like choosing the focal point and controlling the amount of light. She also shows the proof in her photograph examples. Or, you can always leave me a comment and we can talk about photography all day and all night long!

References:

Linderman, Matt. (2007). Signal v Noise. Retrieved from https://signalvnoise.com/posts/321-auto-mode-vs-shooting-manual

Slazinik, Courtney. (N.d.). Click it up a Notch. Retrieved from http://clickitupanotch.com/2010/09/5-reasons-to-shoot-in-manual-mode/

--

--