My First Story on Medium.com and How to Find Audience

Hypatia
3 min readMar 1, 2023

--

Tips to find your 100 followers on Medium.com

Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Medium.com is a great platform for writers to share their thoughts, stories, and ideas with the world. With millions of readers, it’s the perfect place to find your audience and connect with like-minded people. However, as a new writer on Medium, it can be challenging to get noticed and attract readers to your work.

As most of PhD students, my student stipend is very low and I needed additional income to support me and those who are dependent on me. Instead of grievance, I made the decision to reinvent myself. I had always been hesitant to express my thoughts and opinions, as I feared being judged. The idea of drawing attention to myself was daunting and unsettling. However, I realized it was time to challenge this limiting belief and step out of my comfort zone.

Here, I’ll share some tips that I will follow on to find my own audience on Medium platform (and maybe it will help you too).

  1. Be authentic, you don’t need a niche

My approach to writing on Medium is simple: I’ll be focusing on topics that I’m truly passionate about, whether that be sharing personal stories, discussing my experiences, or expressing my opinions on certain matters. The beauty of Medium is that I don’t need to have a specific niche, all I need to do is be authentic and true to myself. As a person with a wide range of interest, Medium is a great platform to share what I want to write about on that day.

2. Engage

My goal is to get into the Medium Partnership program in 3 months. To be able to do that I need 100 followers. I will use Follow-for-follow technique, and I want to follow every Medium user who follows me.

If you’re interested in exchanging follows, please feel free to leave a comment on this post, and I’ll be sure to follow you back!

3. Promote Your Story

I personally don’t use social media. I find it extremely time consuming and the disadvantages greatly outweigh the advantages.

That being said, I plan to share my stories with friends and family and submit them to relevant Medium publications to reach a broader audience. After all, sharing our stories is a powerful way to connect with others and build a community around our writing.

4. Keep Writing

Finally, and perhaps most crucially, I refuse to give up on writing. For the first month, I’ve made a commitment to write every day and see where it takes me. Though it may seem intimidating at first, I see it as an incredible opportunity to share my ideas and connect with like-minded individuals.

After spending countless hours reading stories on Medium, I’ve come to the realization that it’s time for me to start sharing my own writing. My goal is to build a community around my work and connect with readers who share my interests and values. To all those who are embarking on their own writing journey, I wish you the best of luck and look forward to connecting with you on Medium!

--

--

Hypatia

A reader with ideas/ Wanna be Writer/ PhD student/ Making life better one story at a time.