The Design Squiggle

Shubhangi Choudhary
3 min readFeb 17, 2019

--

My Design Squiggle

What is Design Squiggle? Story by —

Damien Newman

Read on — https://thedesignsquiggle.com/

“It is a simple illustration of the design process. The journey of researching, uncovering insights, generating creative concepts, iteration of prototypes and eventually concluding in one single designed solution. It is intended to convey the feeling of the journey. Beginning on the left with mess and uncertainty and ending on the right in a single point of focus: the design.

Please feel free to download the illustration and use it. It is shared here under a Creative Commons Copyright, which you can read more about on the download page.

The Story of the Squiggle.
In the early-nighties, a decade of grunge, raves and hip-hop, I was working as an illustrator and designer for Xerox Europarc in Cambridge, UK. A European outpost of the famous Palo Alto R&D Lab. Where it was explained to me their process of designing innovative technology solutions. Things like the Personal Computer, the GUI, Interpress, The Laser Printer, etc. Their process began with an abstract notion, through research moved to a concept and then finally ended with the design.

The Squiggle came to life at the beginning of the next decade when I had the opportunity to design some complex desktop software. And the need to convince the client of the value of the process of design, in less than thirty seconds. (Their limit not mine) So I created the sketch. Picking one from a handful I’d made using a Wacom tablet, I labeled it, and used it to compel the client to allow us to proceed methodically in designing their software.

When I was working at IDEO a few years later, a colleague surprised me by having found it online (somehow) and using it for the IDEO Intern ’06 T-Shirts. After that I became aware of people using it and looking for its source. So I published it with a Creative Commons Copyright, making it easy for people to freely use it with attribution.

I’ve personally used the Design Squiggle in almost every client presentation, including in Japan and Korea. It also helped me tell the story of our journey in the two-year long Future of Fish design project. (new animation below needed) ”

--

--

Shubhangi Choudhary

I am a thinker, researcher and designer, who is dedicated to creating interactive products that are straightforward and fun to use.