DevOps and Web Scraping now that’s how We Code

Hassan Sani
6 min readOct 15, 2017

--

Who are you?
Are you a programmer?
Are you the developer who turns his back on the users?
Are you also the app? or are you the codes behind the app?
Users believed in you! Users have faith in you!
Have faith in yourself!!!
Remember the Programmer that you are!!!
Remember the codes you have debugged! the Apps you have deployed!
Now Tell Me!!!
WHO… ARE… YOU…?

Wait… Did you read the above with the Hercules movie’s tone, just try it, it so much fun.

Oh before I forget, they did it again and I’m not talking about the Hercules sequence, I mean We Code… not we code… okay before we all get twisted up in words do you remember those guys We talked, We ate, We learned and WeCode, well they are back and this time they released a beast, I just hope Aiivon Hub has insurance for all those damages.

I attended WeCode Tech Meet Up October, Think the DevOps Way while building Web Application. Yeah I’ve seen the best of these guys already, this time they can’t surprise me not anymore.

Now the first speaker was more around the Special Ops ranks: Scotch.io Advocate, Medium Publisher but this was the one got me thinking Linguist turned Engineer and Nope… he is not Merlin the sorcerer.

He even has Good in his name Goodness Toluwanimi Kayode, Pic Credit: Hayatu Mohammed

Now this Good guy just a nickname by the way is chanting about DevOps like we are talking about how to make noodles or how to play soccer, I had no idea it was this simple in a very difficult term. Who decides names for these things, DevOps simply means Development and Operations.

I think I will be taking my words back this shit is getting surprising.

So you’ve just designed the most amazing app on your local system; cute functions and beautiful UI, until your testing department told you to change everything or you spend three weeks deploying then you go live now your very favorite app just simply, interestingly and amazingly stopped working.

I guess this guy found his own name in the bug

As we go on we will be using words that some Linguist turned Developers are trying to push into our heads so please don’t panic. DevOps simply is just the tools and pattern you use in building your apps.

Say making use of some concepts or tools like Containerization, Version Control System, Build, Testing, Packaging, Monitoring and Cloud Services.

these words… we are developers,
we don’t do dictionaries.

Containerization is just a way of placing your things or codes in a containers or modelers and pushing them to your destination of production, container by container like the way We Code are moving from WhatsApp to Telegram, Topic by Topic and User by User.

Just like you, I still didn’t get it, until he mentioned some containerization tools includes Docker, Kubernetes and others. Right there I was like I know those guys Docker and Kubernetes, why didn’t he just say that in the first place.

Version Control System is just a way of keeping tracks of you codes or work as you continue without losing any much changes you make in the process, don’t scratch it just GitHub. Tools are Git, Mecurial with GitHub, GitLab and BitBucket.

Yeah… Build that one is simply is just to construct by putting parts or material together over a period of time, I used dictionary but don’t tell that Linguist turned Developer. Again examples of tools for Build includes Rake, Phing, Gulp and Grunt. It always get easier when he mention the examples

Testing is simply and directly the word itself testing, even I don’t need dictionary for this, to be more specific he mentioned tools like Mocha, Travis CL and others, I hope you weren’t thinking of how to use a spoon to test your apps. Don’t worry the salt is okay.

Packaging and release I think we need a wikipedia here, Okay here we go: it refers to the activities involved once the release is ready for deployment, often also referred to as staging or Preproduction. Linguist he don do, haaaa, with Packaging tools the way he simply put it is you don’t wake up in the middle of the night just to find out your apps has crashed. Tools includes Automic, Plutoral, Rocket and others. I just hope these are not characters from the Guardians of the Galaxy.

Monitoring, Please you don’t need dictionary or wikipedia its plain monitoring just that it will be impossible to do individually, he listed tools for that to help; Scalyr, Sentry and more. Oh this people and names.

Cloud Services oh yeah I know this one, usually skip everything he mentioned above and just do this, it always cool to see my app online till someone sends a very beautiful annoying message saying all sorts of interesting rubbish that he can’t view a section of the app, well in case you are trying not to be like me and won’t skip other processes then cloud services include Heroku, Google Cloud, Digital Ocean, AWS and others.

By the time he was done talking I felt like this guy just told me there is a better, simpler and funkier way to actually spell and pronounce my own name. So why didn’t I know this before? I heard someone whispered It’s DevOps Baby.

Next speaker left no stone unturned, he even came with his own acolyte, who does that? during the introduction I closed my eyes, closed my palms and say a little prayer “Dear Lord Hope He is not a Professor in Coding.” Now you be the judge of this, He spent 10 years in the US, He is the CEO of CouOne Technologies and his topic was Web Scrapping with Beautiful Soup module and Flask Framework.

Okay seriously enough with the names; who name these things, where did you get a soup that is beautiful? A soup could be testy, spicy but beautiful… why did you have to give the soup a makeup. This We Code guys are just full of surprises and I promised myself not to be surprised.

I must request for your humble apology at this point I stepped out of this beautiful soup to attend a very unique meeting which I will equally write about but that’s not all here is a periscope link to this event. And that was what made this event even more interesting @WeCodeNg was streaming this Meet Up live on twitter, so just in case if you are interested in attending the next Meet Ups and you don’t reside in Abuja just follow them on twitter @WeCodeNg or visit www.wecode.ng

Besides all these sort of meet ups are happening somewhere around you, you can visit www.techmeetup.ng, thank me later.

I can’t believe I missed this Amazing Picture Moment. Pic Credit: Hayatu Mohammed

I just realized I went for a Tech Meet Up and now I’m a Developer turned Linguist, sorry I meant to say DevOps certified developer. Google will confirm if such a certificate exist.

Did you see the Hercules short video above how he is breaking free from the shackles, that’s how I felt after this Meet Up and I hope you are feeling the same right now so for the Beautiful-Soup and the Linguist please let’s clap for them and ourselves… yeah especially for me and I will only know you are doing that if only you pressed the clap button down there and please hold on to it for as long as you like.

Also follow me I always follow back anywhere you see me @iNidAName even right here on Medium Hassan Sani.

--

--

Hassan Sani

Husband, (We have twins). JavaScript Developer, member of Node.Js Foundation, Co Chair of Node.js Africa.