What is it meant to be a Ghost Developer?

Ankur Biswas
2 min readFeb 19, 2018

Yes, you read correctly. I’m talking about Ghost Developer.

Have you ever heard of the term “Ghost Writer”. A “Ghost Writer” is someone who is hired to write literary or journalistic works, speeches or other texts that are officially credited to another person as the author.

One day I was talking to my friend and we talked about career, future and all. Suddenly he mentioned the term “Ghost Developer” and I was like what is Ghost Developer?

So he told me a Ghost Developer is a developer who developed the product with his code but didn’t get any credit for it.

Just like a Ghost Writer. The only difference in between a Ghost Writer and a Ghost Developer is that if you search the term Ghost Writer in Google you will find many related results on it but you’ll find nothing on Ghost Developer. Let’s face it. He coined this term up from Ghost Writer. But the truth is that he has a point. Most of the developers don’t know this but in some way they all are belongs to the Ghost Developers category. I, myself didn’t know that I also belongs to this category of developers. And yes, it’s frustrating.

When you don’t have the credits for your work you’ll find yourself in a place where you’ll think you’ll never grow in your life. And that’s true. I’ve found myself in a position where I think I stuck like forever because I’m giving someone else the opportunity to control my life for a long time. I’m giving up my credits to someone else.

How to overcome the depression?

First you have to find a good mentor for you. Someone who can guide you to choose the right path to achieve what you want from your life.

Second You have to willing to take risks. You have to believe yourself and take control of your own life. Make a clear mindset of what you truly want from your life? What do you wanna become? What do you wanna do? When you start to ask yourself the right questions then and only then you’ll find the right path which you can follow because it’s the path you choose to become who you are or always wanna be.

So the conclusion is that if you don’t control your life then someone else will always gonna take advantage of you. Belief in yourself. Don’t let someone else to take advantage of your work. Make a clear path to achieve the goal you want form your life. Then take risks and fail big following that path. Remember if you fail by following your own path then you’ll have the satisfaction that you fail by choosing something you truly want not by following someone else’s path.

--

--