I Wrote an Article Every Day for 30 Days — Should You?

The pros and cons of writing for Medium every day

Iain Adam
3 min readFeb 28, 2022
Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Tomorrow is the last day of my thirty articles in thirty days challenge. And I will be glad to see the back of it.

It has been a rollercoaster ride writing on Medium for the last thirty days, and I have felt lucky to engage with so many wonderful people, and have so many strangers pick me up when I was (metaphorically speaking) flat on my back. I have received compliments and comments from friends and family with whom I have shared all of my writing.

As much as I love rollercoasters, I don’t want to spend time on them every day.

But I am not sure I will return to writing. I have tried to summarise my experiences and emotions below.

The good

The challenge made sure that I was writing. I am guilty of not following through with things, but this challenge made sure that I stuck to it. It meant that I had to (mostly) plan my articles in advance. This gave me structure and purpose in my writing.

Writing an article a day forced me to look for different topics. I was able to write on a range of things that I would not have considered before. I wrote articles on my weight loss journey, my attempts at building an Etsy store, and…

--

--

Iain Adam

Father, Teacher, Maker, Husband | Top Writer in Writing