No Cook Meal Prep

Anuradha Naik
4 min readJul 25, 2020

--

Sometimes weekends……should just be for the weekend

Pickachu giphy.com

So who is ready to not cook this weekend, I know I am .

This post is the official recipe for my red sauce also featured in Why Chop without the rant.

Yes, I am that person, I dont cook during the week and sometimes I mealprep for the whole week in about 15min start to finish without cooking. I always mealprep though, make something (or buy something) , if there is nothing in the fridge ready beforehand , I aint eating.

So Here We Go !

How long its gonna take

  • 10–15 min max (and I mean max) start to finish

What we gonna need

(Its ok to not have all this exactly , do what works for you but make sure to eat!)

  • Roasted Red Peppers (You can use fresh red peppers/or any fresh pepper you may have and put them directly on a flame and remove the char(blackened skin) in cold water , takes 5 extra min) This is will be our substitute for onion and tomato 🙃
  • 🔥 Chilli flakes (optional according to taste)
  • Lemon juice 🍋
  • Raw sesame seeds / Almond powder (or soaked almonds) / Pureed carrots 🥕
  • Flax seeds/ Flax meal (optional can be substituted for more sesame seeds/ almond powder)
  • Health Kick : Ragi flour / Hemp seeds/ Chia seeds(optional based on availability )
  • Basil 🍃 (or any herb you have on hand or whichever feels right)
  • Water 🥤
  • Salt 🧂 , Pepper & Olive oil to taste

How we gonna make it

Blend :

  • 2-3 Red Bell Peppers or 1 medium can roasted red bell pepper
  • 1 tsp Chilli Flakes
  • 2 tsp Lemon Juice
  • 4 - 7 tbsp Raw sesame seeds / Almond powder / Pureed carrots
  • 1 tbsp Flax meal (Add more of the sesame seeds / Almond powder / Pureed carrots if you dont have this)
  • 1 tbsp Ragi flour / Hemp seeds/ Chia seeds (Add more of the sesame seeds / Almond powder / Pureed carrots if you dont have this)
  • 1 tsp Basil(or any herb you have on hand)
  • 1 -1.5 cups Water
  • Finish with Salt , Pepper & Olive oil

into a sauce consistency, trust your senses and you will not need measurements as much 😄, If its too thin, add more sesame seeds/almond powder or any seeds you have.

This is what I have done throughout the week

  • I will make grilled cheese 🥪 lunch and dinner with vegan cheese shreds, Add this sauce on the bread , top it with cheese, put it on a pan & into the oven (aint nobody babysitting a sandwich) for 10–20 min on 180C / 350F
  • You can make a fresh sandwich 🥪 if you are a fan (toast your bread first in a toaster) Add this spread with your favorite veggies
  • I have also used this sauce on English muffins with vegan cheese + mushroom
  • Make nachos : In a baking dish drizzle the nachos in oil , add the sauce + vegan cheese and bake in a preheated oven (180C/350F) for 10 min.
  • Make pizza 🍕: Any flatbread/dough, add sauce , add vegan cheese and bake in a preheated oven (180C/350F) for 10–15 min!
  • Use this red sauce in all no — cook / low-cook recipes pasta salads🥗 , dips , wraps 🥙 you name it.

You can also prep veggies 🥕 and fruits 🍓 for a smoothie as I wrote here .

I also believe in buying hummus and pita bread / bread 🥯 and having it on hand as a light lunch / snack .

A little something about me before you think I am a health buff , I am weak when it comes to pizza 🍕 and cake 🎂

and this cake is not even vegan but I have kept saying and I’ll keep saying that I cannot physically function on junk food 🌮🔔 (basically non home cooked food) but more on that later………..

A little bit of self brag : My mom finally tried her version of this recipe where she will char tomatoes 🍅 on the flame 🔥 and remove the skin, add salt🧂, pepper and sugar and use as normal in curries or soups. She has reduced her cook time by half for the first time in 25 years, cooks lunch & dinner only half the week & has called herself & I quote a “liberated woman” 🧚‍♀️ (not the exact liberation I had in mind but still)

I hope this helps you as well from a lifetime of chopping…

Make sure you take care, know that you are loved and not alone 😊 . Stay well . 🌻

Subscribe : https://blenderandpot.substack.com/

--

--

Anuradha Naik
0 Followers

Designer/Developer #PeaceIsAHumanRight #DignityForAll #AutonomyForAll Pass #NYHealthAct