On finding where I shine the brightest

Cynthia Peter
3 min readAug 11, 2022

--

How do I figure out what I am good at?

Hi there🙋🏾‍♀️,

I missed sharing my thoughts and getting feedback from you. It’s been a crazy few months for me. I was at my desk, and the plan was to rush through my tasks and move on with life. But the past few weeks have given me time to think and take stock of my life and career, and this question has been heavy on my mind.

What makes me different? Where do I shine the brightest?

A picture taken from La Cucina, Ibeno beach, Akwa Ibom. Photo By Author
La Cucina, Ibeno beach, Akwa Ibom. Photo By Author

In the past couple of months, I have tried to figure out that thing I shine brightest at, and yeah, I am not writing to say I found it. I am writing to ask, “Why does it matter, and why am I beating myself up for this one reason? What if I am not great at anything? does it matter? How will I survive in a world where you’re expected to *excel*?

Sometimes I want to show more, stand up, and take on new challenges, but then I crawl back into my shell because “what if I ain’t exactly good at this? what if everyone sees that I am not good enough?” I don’t want to be some fraud that shined through because she had a loud voice.

Don’t get me wrong. I have ideas — loads of them. And when I am tasked with doing something, I can learn and kill it. And maybe I could excel at anything if given enough time and trust. But adulthood doesn’t sit and wait, and my work deserves me to do well while at it.

Maybe I am not working enough. Perhaps I need to be sincere and tell myself, “I am not working as hard as others,” “I am not that great after all. Who knows?

I do a lot of things pretty well, Dance, eat, cook, speak at events, code, write, being a fantastic friend; I give some of the best advice even though I don’t follow them for myself. 🤣

But I genuinely love writing, and maybe I suck at it. Perhaps I’m not excellent at it because I don’t put in the work or don’t do enough, or maybe I am scared to fail as a writer. But I really would love to be an astounding writer.

However, I am writing this piece to break from my writing block. Secondly, to get help from you.

So, here is my big question: To some of you who receive great compliments and love from your workplace, communities, and relationships, How did you navigate life and figure you liked doing this and were great at it?

How do you answer this question?

“What is your biggest strength?”

What have you learned? What have you figured out that you are and are not?

I used to think it was a ridiculous question. But I don’t know anymore. I’ll love to get answers. You can reply in the comments, email, call me, or send me a DM on Twitter.

It’ll mean a lot to me. Thanks🤲🏾

--

--

Cynthia Peter

A mind learning to live one moment at a time. I am finding my path as a Writer. I write about Travel, nomad Living, musings, lessons, and growth.🚀