The Facebook+Instagram reposting spam issue & solution

Koby Soto
2 min readMar 5, 2018

--

I rarely post to Facebook anymore, mainly because most posts are by content creators, but also because it became very public and reputable and it feels like a place you only post stuff that you want your public image to reflect. It’s definitely not “friends and family” like it felt years ago. I do still post a lot on Instagram (at least for now, as it has started to suffer from the same issues). Sometimes I want to share an instagram post or story on my Facebook as well, because it’s decent and legit. That doesn’t happen a lot but nevertheless, I find myself overthinking it, since reposting is kinda lame. Core friends and many others are following on both and I would be spamming them. Spamming isn’t cool. Re-liking and re-commenting is also not cool. It is the same content after all, no matter where someone sees it, and if one has liked it already, then they’ve liked it regardless where it originates from.

The solution (I wish someone from FB would read)

Facebook owns both platforms and they should unite the experiences on both. I should be able to post once in either of them and then choose to extend the audience and embed it in another, as opposed to duplicating it and copying it to the other. My followers would be able to like or comment only once everywhere. If they follow me on both, then their comment or like would be shown on both to all the post’s audience, otherwise, it would only be shown to others on the platform they are following me on, so privacy remains. To me this would be transparent, and I would be able to see everything (likes, comments, views) regardless the platform. As for stories, if they have been seen in one platform they should be marked as seen on the other as well. One content, one post / story.

This solution would solve my inner debates on whether I should repost to Facebook things I’ve already posted on Instagram as it won’t be a repost. Facebook on the other hand would enjoy real fresh content and increase time spent on both products.

An illustration of what it could look

--

--