This is what sadness feels like.

A love poem.

Lalita Ballesteros
2 min readJan 7, 2018

Somedays I ask myself what I’m doing. I put on sad music that speaks of regret, because that’s most likely what I’m feeling.

My biggest regret up until a few months ago had been that I couldn’t save the people closest to me from themselves. That I watched them self-destruct and couldn’t do more to change the course of their lives for the better.

Words are drawn like swords between us.

Silence speaks of hurt feelings and

echoes of pain long forgotten but

etched into the flesh of our being

scars of times we hoped would have been simpler

but turned out as now only could

sour,

what was it you said, again

or, rather

what did I speak that offended you so?

my pain hurt yours

your pain yelled at mine

our pain said it wasn’t worth it

too hard

why bother

I walked away right and wrong all at the same time

right and indignant

and yet the price of such rightness was frustration and loneliness

but where does pride factor in when you’re simply,

wrong.

--

--

Lalita Ballesteros

clap if you like the words on the page | Writer | Comedian | Director | feat: TEDx, Forbes, Comedy Bar, Huffpo Etsy | Prev: Seth Godin + Lyft. www.Iamlalita.com