How To Go From Canva Templates To Passive Income

Paul Rose
5 min readJun 17, 2024

--

In 3 Different Ways

Let’s imagine you’re on the Canva website and maybe already spent the entire day creating templates that buyers are willing to pay for.

The next step is to know where to sell them.

Well, two years ago, I was in that boat, and that moment of realization still remains clear in my head.

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

The fact that I could

  • Create something for free on Canva,
  • Generate a shareable link for customers to use
  • and passive income in return was unbelievable.

So, let’s say you’re just now finding out about this side hustle.

Here’s how you can go from your Canva templates to passive income for free.

1. Sell Them On Fiverr

If you know anything about Fiverr, you probably know it’s a marketplace for services, and I get it.

"I sound insane telling you to sell Canva templates on Fiverr."

But it’s works.

I know, because I’ve done it myself.

I remember making an onboarding kit for businesses using Canva. The kit had

  • A welcome kit templates
  • A service and pricing guide templates
  • A zip file with different onboarding documents
  • A client questionnaire template
  • A business plan template
  • A workbook template
  • Webinar templates
  • and a lead magnet template
Image Of My Listing On Fiverr

I could have easily sold each of those templates for $15 to $30, but I bundled them up and sold them on Fiverr for $10.

If customers could get so much value for just a small fee, why would they be bothered to buy them elsewhere?

And that was it.

I made passively selling those templates.

"Now, I must say, I definitely had some prior experience selling on Fiverr and had made over $2,000 from a profile I own."

Image By Author

Nevertheless, I think with

  • The Right product keywords
  • and covers

Anyone can turn Fiverr into a passive income stream.

2. Sell them on Teachers Pay Teachers

This one is quite special because just yesterday, I got a new sale on a shop I haven’t touched in over a year or two.

It’s crazy, but definitely not surprising, seeing that Teachers Pay Teachers gets over..

One of my readers tried this platform after reading one of my stories and made their first sale.

I love Teachers Pay Teachers because it’s tailored to a specific target audience, making it easier for us to narrow our focus on what templates we could create.

Some of the best templates to sell on Teachers Pay Teachers include

  • Flash cards
  • Lesson plans
  • Reward coupons
  • Name tags and so much more.

Literally just ask ChatGPT for ideas on teacher-themed Canva templates, and you’ll find so many of them.

ChatGPT Dashboard

Designing them is also very easy, as Canva’s free template library is packed with many teacher-themed templates.

Now, there is one thing to know:

When I first started selling on Teachers Pay Teachers, creating a shop was free, but I recently discovered that is no longer the case.

To open a store on Teachers Pay Teachers now, you’ll have to pay a basic fee of $29

Screenshot Made On Teachers Pay Teachers

But I think if you can afford it, you should definitely try Teachers Pay Teachers. You’ll thank me for it.

3. Sell Them On Etsy

We all expected to see Etsy on this list,right?

That’s because, it’s probably the most profitable marketplace here.

Nevertheless, Etsy can be super competitive, which makes it very difficult for beginners to make money on the platform.

Notwithstanding, people sell on Etsy and so could you.

Besides , no one you can’t sell on Etsy and on the Marketplaces.

"You’re essentially turning one template into multiple passive income streams."

And for the income potential on Etsy, one of us has made over $72.7k on a single shop.

Image By John Nguyen

So yes, your Canva templates can definitely become more than just designs on a dashboard.

Does Selling Canva Digital Products Work For Everyone?

Definitely not.

If it were that easy, even one person would have multiple Etsy shops generating income.

But that’s not the case,

Some factors must be considered and they include

  • What keywords you create products around?
  • How good your search engine optimization on all of these platforms are?
  • and finally, how amazing your product covers look?

So here’s an assignment:

Do me a favor and learn about these three things.

There’s YouTube, search

  • Etsy SEO
  • Fiverr SEO
  • How to create attractive listings
  • Teachers Pay Teachers SEO

Just please for the love of God, learn the basics before starting this business.

Because no matter what you say, it works.

You can also check out the Canva Income Library,

The Canva Income Library

for thousands of done-for-you Canva templates that you can sell as your own.

You can click here to check it out.

--

--

Paul Rose

I am Paul Rose. A Faith-Led 5-Figure writer with viable online business ideas to share: Book My Services here: hello@iampaulrose.online