I Tried Selling AI Art On Pinterest For 7 Days

Paul Rose
9 min readFeb 27, 2024

Here’s How It Has Been So Far

Last week, I shared that I’d be launching a cute side hustle with the help of a free AI generator, and many of you loved the idea.

Now, the idea was to sell cute nursery wall art on Etsy and Creative Fabrica.

The plan was to

  • use Leonardo Ai to generate the images
  • add in cute nursery quotes in Canva (where necessary)
  • and sell as either a downloadable PDF or Physical print
Nursery Art Print Generated By Leonardo Ai & Canva

Now, while I knew well that Etsy would have been the best bet for starting a side hustle, I wanted to raise the bar a little.

I had already seen hundreds of Etsy sellers making thousands of dollars just from their AI-generated nursery prints on Etsy.

Screenshot Of Etsy's Search Results

I decided it would be the perfect idea to build a proof of concept for this side hustle on Pinterest,

and determine if it was possible to generate any income by selling this same product using Pinterest as the marketing channel.

But while this is just an update to the challenge, I really don’t want this story to be about me and my attempts on Pinterest.

So, how about I show you how to start this cute but profitable side hustle for yourself using the easy route?

Etsy!

But it won’t end there:

  • I’ll also show you how my Pinterest challenge has been so far
  • And how you can double your revenue by selling on both Pinterest and Etsy

Ready! Let’s go.

Now, studies show that new parents are willing to invest thousands of dollars in creating the perfect crib and nursery for their newborn babies.

Photo by Lotus Design N Print on Unsplash

This entire side hustle will be built on the insane demand that never dies,

so let’s look at how you could build your very own profitable wall art business on Etsy even as a complete beginner.

Step 1: Decide How You’ll Be Selling Your Nursery Art Print

There are basically two routes you could take with this.

  • Print on Demand
  • Or as Printable downloads.

Now, if you’re confused about what these two are, don’t be.

Print on Demand is basically what it sounds like: your image is printed out on demand and shipped to the customer, all on autopilot.

Yes!

You won’t be handling any of the shipping or delivery;

you’ll simply let the print provider do their work while they keep a commission of each sale.

Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Offering printable downloads, on the other hand, means providing your images as digital downloads for potential buyers to print on their own or at their nearest print shop."

And while selling your nursery prints will bring your front-end prices and revenue down, you get to keep almost 100% of the revenue after Etsy’s fees.

So pick your pill.

I love digital products, so that’s what we’ll be going with for today’s story.

2. Find Profitable Ideas For Nursery Art To Sell On Etsy

If you’ve been a long-time reader here, you probably already know how I plan on finding these ideas.

And if you guessed "ChatGPT," you’re correct!

So, over on ChatGPT, I’ll be asking for 10–20 profitable sub-niche ideas for a nursery wall art Etsy shop.

For those who don’t get it,

the main niche for our store is obviously Nursery Wall Art, so we’ll be asking ChatGPT for sub-niches within this niche.

ChatGPT Dashboard

Then I’ll ask for sub-niches for each of those niches.

ChatGPT Dashboard

My strategy is to keep asking ChatGPT for sub-niches until I narrow down to an idea that meets my criteria of

  • A high demand
  • and low competition with less than 1000 search results

Last week, using this research process, I found that the keyword "praying mantis print" was in

  • High Demand (as suggested by Etsy’s Dropdown feature)
Screenshot Of Etsy's Dropdown Feature

But let’s say that’s not the case.

Now, let’s say you check all the keywords ChatGPT suggests and probably find that they’re in demand but highly competitive.

Here’s what to do to find low competition keywords.

Ask ChatGPT for 100 objects to create nursery wall art on.

ChatGPT Dashboard

Then, for each of those ideas, add the keyword "nursery wall art" after it.

For example: sailboat nursery wall art.

Take your new keyword and check for its competition.

With this new method, I found dozens of low competition keywords, one of which was ‘ice hockey nursery wall art’.

And the best part is, even without Etsy’s dropdown suggesting this keyword, I know this idea is in high demand because of the number of sales other listings have received.

Screenshot Of Etsy's Search Results

This low-competition product, priced at $6.98, has most likely earned its owner $3,371.34 in passive income.

Screenshot Of My Calculator

There are, therefore, two ways to check for demand.

  • Etsy’s Dropdown
  • Or the numbers of reviews product in that niche have

And the second method is easier and way more effective than the first.

3. Creating My Nursery Wall Art

For the creation process, I’ll be using my all-time favorite AI art generator, Leonardo AI.

While it’s not as simple as I make it seem to generate high-quality images, with the right prompts, Leonardo Ai is literally one of the best AI art generators there are.

For those who are confused, prompts are simply word commands you give to these AI generators as specifications for what you want your images to look like.

And because I understand how hard it is to come up with high-quality images, especially when you’re only just learning the AI technology

I decided it was a helpful idea to make my high-quality prompts available to as many of my readers as want to replicate the types of images I create.

I call it the Leonardo Prompt Bundle.

The Leonardo Prompt Bundle

It’s a collection of my best, tried-and-tested AI prompts for beginners to play around with.

These prompts led me from generating images that look like this

Image Generated By Leonardo Ai With a Low Quality Prompt

to images that look like this.

Image Generated By Leonardo Ai With a High Quality Prompt

So, if you’re as lazy as I am and love the idea of skipping the trial and error of testing and creating high-quality AI prompts from scratch, then check out the Leonardo Prompt Bundle.

You can check out the Leonardo Prompt Bundle here.

Once you have the prompt bundle or have maybe learned how to create high-quality AI prompts, the next step is to generate your images.

Since we found the keyword "ice hockey nursery wall art," we’ll be generating an image for that using my AI prompt bundle.

Image Generated By Leonardo Ai

Yes!

This image was 100% generated by AI.

It looks cute, I know. That’s the level AI has gotten to.

But it doesn’t end here.

We’ll need to process our images to make them more sellable.

The processes I like to follow for this include:

  • Remove the background using Adobe’s Free background remover
  • Upscale your AI Generated Image to increase the quality (so it doesn’t pixelate when printed). I recommend Upscale Media Free Upscaler
Screenshot Of Upscale.Media Image Upscaler
  • Choose a Wall Art Dimension in Canva (4000 × 6000px)
Screenshot Of Canva's Custom Dimension Feature
  • Download your high resolution PNG files to upload on your given Marketplaces
  • Create mockup images to market your nursery wall art
Art Mockup Made In Canva

Selling Your Nursery Art on Etsy

Once you have the PDF version of your AI nursery print, you’ll need to

  • Open your Etsy shop
  • Pick a relevant shop name
  • And upload your art as digital downloads.

The goal is to aim to publish & launch 15–30 of these nursery prints in the right niches.

Emphasis on the 'right niches’.

Because if you do the work in a highly saturated or low-demand niche, you’ll most likely make no sales.

But if you follow these exact steps, you should be able to make your first sales within a week or two.

I know this because a reader here, a part of our community on Medium,

Launched his Etsy shop after reading one of my stories and made his first sales in just the 2nd week.

Screenshot Of Krishna's Etsy Shop In less than 2 weeks of launching

Why?

Because he took action and followed the correct steps.

So, if you do this correctly, you should expect to make hundreds or thousands of dollars passively, like all the other sellers we’ve seen as examples.

My Pinterest Nursery Wall Art Update

So, over to me, how’s our shop doing on Pinterest?

Well, unsurprisingly, the page has started to pick up momentum with over 100 monthly views and a few outbound clicks.

And while we haven’t made any sales on the shop yet, I’m very hopeful for this Pinterest challenge for so many reasons.

  • First, Pinterest is an image search engine with over 1.1 billion monthly visitors.
Pinterest Traffic Insights by SimilarWeb
  • Also, the demographic on Pinterest is buyer-inclined, so even with few clicks on my pins, it’s usually highly targeted traffic.
  • Moreover, I’ve been very inconsistent with this challenge, having only launched four listings up to this point.

So, if I follow my own advice and publish more products and pins, I could definitely make this business on Pinterest work.

I’m really taking this side hustle seriously, and just yesterday, I committed by buying more high-quality mockups to showcase my nursery wall art on Pinterest.

One Of The Nursery Wall Art Mockups I Bought From Etsy

Remember, Pinterest and Etsy have two different outcome tendencies, and Etsy is by far the easiest route to take as a beginner.

So, turn a blind eye to my Pinterest challenge and simply focus on launching your Etsy wall art shop.

How To Make More Money With Pinterest & Etsy

But what if you could benefit from the millions of monthly buyers on Etsy?

Etsy's Traffic Insights by SimilarWeb

And still enjoy the insane buyer juice on Pinterest.

You can call it greedy, but I think it’s smart.

Sure, I just said to focus on selling on Etsy, but what if you could use Pinterest to send extra traffic to your Etsy shop?

Well, here’s a simple step for what that would look like

  • Create a Pinterest page with the same name and Branding as your Etsy shop
  • Take all of your Nursery Wall Art Mockups and simply repost them on Pinterest
  • But this time, optimize your image pins with the exact keywords you used in your titles, descriptions and tags on Etsy.

And In less than 5 minutes, you could basically promote your product on Pinterest for extra traffic.

Conclusion

I love babies, so a side hustle like this feels more like a fun game than a typical side hustle.

So, if you’re like me and would love to tap into the huge demand for aesthetically pleasing nursery wall art,

then follow these steps to launch your very own profitable nursery wall art business.

And for the prompts you’d need to generate high-quality images, you should definitely check out the Leonardo Prompt Bundle.

You can check out the Leonardo Prompt Bundle here.

--

--

Paul Rose

I am Paul Rose. A Faith-Led 5-Figure writer with viable online business ideas to share: Book My Services here: hello@iampaulrose.online