If I Had To Make an Extra $1K Every Month, I’d Do This

Paul Rose
6 min readJan 18, 2024

--

How To Make Passive Income on Medium Even as a Beginner

My stories on Medium are not paywalled, and if you haven’t noticed already, I’m not part of the Medium Partner Program.

I let my followers read all of my stories for free and I’m satisfied with the appreciation I get.

Nevertheless, I can’t turn a blind eye to how profitable the Medium Partner Program and how people are earning thousands of dollars through this income stream."

Photo by Live Richer on Unsplash

If I had to earn an additional $1k every month, on top of what I already make from writing on Medium, I would definitely consider joining the Partner Program.

Because I did my calculations, and I’m in awe of how much I could be making as a Medium Partner.

How Much Would I Have Made As a Medium Partner?

Now, I found a random post in a Medium writers' Facebook group where a writer made a whopping $890.56 from just a single story.

Image by Eva Keiffenheim

It took them 40,000 views on that story to make that amount.

And it made me wonder how much I would have been making if I had been a part of the Medium Partner Program.

So I took out a calculator and did some simple math.

I get around 273,462 views every single month on Medium

Screenshot by Author

And if 40,000 views made this writer $890.56, then with 273,000 views, I would have been making over $6,078 per month with the Medium Partner Program.

That’s $6,078 in a single month.

It’s crazy, I know, but people are literally making effortless passive income just by writing quality stories on Medium.

Just like I could be making multiple 4 figures per month from this program.

But you don’t have to take my word for it; some other well-known writers, such as

  • Zulie Rane
  • and Sinem Gunel, make thousands of dollars from Medium’s Partner Program.

But How Long Did It Take Me To Reach This Amount Of Views and Followers?

Now, I know what’s literally going on in your mind right now.

Is it possible to make at least $1k per month passively from the Medium Partner Program?

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Well, from everything I’ve shown you, I know it’s possible.

And you might want to ask how long it took me to grow my profile on Medium.

Well it didn’t take so long.

I wrote and published my first post on Medium on August 7th 2023 of last year.

You’d probably think it took me at least 90 days of writing to gain momentum, but that’s a lie.

In my very first month on Medium, I had already grown over 1k followers.

It’s been 5 Months now and I’ve literally grown 35 times more followers. (35k followers)

Screenshot by Author

So do I think it’s possible for a complete beginner to generate passive income by writing on Medium?

Absolutely!

In fact, Here’s A Quick 30 Day Checklist To Grow Your First 1k followers on Medium

  • Pick a topic to write stories about (Make sure it’s something You’re passionate about)
  • Find 10–20 of the best writers in your niche
  • Create a Content Schedule with a list of the best performance posts from each of these writers
  • Build a writing schedule and write at least once a day
  • Maintain a consistent level of quality with your stories that make people want to read
  • Finally, learn what the Medium Algorithm wants and give them just that.

Now, I won’t even lie, you’ll literally hear crickets with your first few stories.

No claps, no comments, nothing.

But that’s not the time to give up.

  • Vet your stories’ quality
  • Compare it with other viral writers in your niche and jot down how you can adopt their writing style and principles in your stories

Because If it works for them and helps them go viral, it will likely work for you too.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Now If Not The MPP, How Do I Make Money From My Medium Profile?

With over 35k followers and hundreds of thousands of views every month, do I regret not being in the Medium Partner Program?

Not really.

I mean, my followers are like family.

And the comments I receive on my stories, expressing how valuable they are, warm my heart.

So sacrificing my pie in the partner program is worth it if it keeps my community happy.

But don’t even think for one second that I haven’t been able to turn my writing hobby into a profitable passive income business.

I decided to be more creative, think of other helpful ways to make money through my Medium platform, and here’s how much I’ve been able to make.

Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

First, the views I get on my Medium stories fuel my Affiliate income passively.

So well, that I made over $1032.40 in just one month from one of my Affiliate products.

Screenshot by Author

And almost $4,158.11 from another Affiliate program.

Screenshot by Author

I also make money through Digital Products and so far I’ve gotten 318 sales.

Screenshot by Author

I also tried consulting as an income stream on Medium and ended up making $600 in total revenue.

Screenshot by Author

Conclusion

Now you’d agree with me that with or without the Medium Partner Program, writing on Medium is still a very profitable side hustle to start.

It’s a platform where just a notepad and some ideas could turn into something really profitable.

So if you have a story to tell

  • From your personal experiences (Marriage, relationship and life)
  • From your work skills and journey
  • and even from your hobbies

Medium is the best place to be, you can take my word for it.

Now, Remember how I mentioned growing over 35k Followers, with over 273,462 views every month.

Well, I wrote an entire book sharing exactly how I did it.

It’s called the Medium Income Playbook.

The Medium Income Playbook

In this ebook, I share my exact thought process behind

  • Finding endless profitable content ideas related to your specific topic
  • Creating click-worthy titles and viral headlines to capture readers' attention.
  • Creating engaging stories that convert readers into loyal subscribers and even buyers.
  • My writing principles (Quantity vs quality, KLT principle and the MVA principle)
  • And I’ll also share my personal experiences on how I managed to grow to over 35k followers (as I speak) on Medium in less than 5 months.

Literally everything you need to go from zero followers to making passive income as a writer is in the Medium Income Playbook.

So If you want to start your very own profitable Medium page,

Check out the steps I personally tried out and have now shared in the Medium Income Hustle playbook.

You can click here to Grab The Medium Income Playbook.

--

--

Paul Rose

I am Paul Rose. A Faith-Led 5-Figure writer with viable online business ideas to share: Book My Services here: hello@iampaulrose.online