What a year 2020… the first 6 months.

Victoria Louise
5 min readSep 27, 2020

--

Every 6 months I like to sit down and reflect what has been having within my life…

The start of the year had so much buzz and promise, we had told all the family we were expecting a new arrival we were excited. There was just a hint of scarcity from china in the air.

Me and my husband took a trip down to see my relatives in Folkestone, like going down memory lane, as I worked there back in 2011. It was lovely to visit the town again and reminisce on times gone by, what was the same what was new. It was wonderful to see how much the little town had come on. Old pubs restored, the old railway made into more of an attraction, a new fancy champagne bar in the lighthouse as well as a street food quarter. Folkestone really is trying to be on trend with Brighton and I loved it!

As soon as we were back from Folkstone we had a trip to the Peak District — Edale — booked for our Baby Moon and what a good weekend we choose to book it (the weekend before lockdown). I was approaching 25 weeks pregnant.

We stayed at the most beautiful little Airbnb called Back Tor Farm, almost half way up Mam Tor, perfect for a pregnant lady. We had the idea of traveling around to different areas within the peaks but in fact when we got there and we saw the white dressing gowns we thought forget the car let’s have a little retreat and mainly walked from the Nook (the name of the cottage).

Day 1. Mam Tor, almost a circular walk back to our farm.

Day 2. Grindleford Waterfall, started off and ended much like a fairytale, beautiful and idyllic, sudden fear and drama when I had to actually climb the waterfall almost 25 weeks pregnant. Had I realised this before walking perhaps I would have suggested an alternative, although extremely proud of myself and Arthur (baby) for climbing it and the fairytale finished off happily ever after. Would definitely recommend beautiful with all the waterfalls.

Day 3. Back Tor, a quick little sunrise climb to the top of Back Tor we encounted no-one it was truly blissful.

2020 seems to be the year our world globally broke… we got back and Covid-19 announcements all over the news, this pandemic as been a blessing and a curse for pregnancy.

With everyone being under strict rules it has given me the opportunity to rest, enjoy time with my growing baby and my husband.

The lockdown also pushed me to do something I was so afraid of doing… putting my business online. Being a very hands-on teacher and going around the class I felt online just wasn’t for me. I was really surprised at the energy and the connection you can get from a live online practice, especially with people who already practice together.

I found peace in seeing my students each week online, seeing familiar faces and feeling like I was supporting them at this unusually strange time. I also felt like they were supporting me hugely also by keeping my own spirits high and giving me purpose too. At week 36 of pregnancy I decided it best to stop teaching to enjoy the remaining weeks and start nesting.

Me and Chris had endless ‘lockdown’ walks exploring various areas near us. This was truly magical time for us, my favourite human and being out exploring in nature. We had many conversations laughing and joking around about names, daydreaming and musing.

Summer Solstice arrived, what always prompts me to reflect over the first 6 months of the year. This time Summer Solstice was even more special, for it was my Mothers Blessing. Slightly different to what I had imagined, being in a circle of friends, showering me with love and support as I transition from Maiden to Mother, but it was equally touching, emotional and loving being over zoom.

36 Weeks Pregnant

A Mothers Blessing or Blessingway is a celebration of pregnancy and becoming a mother that focuses more on the mother than the baby.

It’s a wonderful opportunity to get a group of closest, and supportive friends to come together and honour the journey and wonder of pregnancy into motherhood. It is a chance to offer words of support and encouragement around preparing for birth and postpartum and usually includes a ceremony to mark this special occasion in ways with is symbolic for the mother to be.

I chose to write a meditation for us all to share and connect, a small yoga practice, energy work, poems, and affirmations to create a dream-catching for myself and baby to remind us how supported we are. The biggest part from the blessing is not only the love and encouragement but also the caring circle afterwards. After birth friends are rota’d to bring delicious home-cooked food so the new parents do not have to stress about scrabbling dinner together.

2020 I am sure is very different from what a lot of us imagined.

The first six months has provided space to reflect, an opportunity to consider what are real needs (essentials) and wants are, what we can be truly grateful for.

It has highlighted the human races selfish-ness in panic buying as well as a lovingness in communities and for our key-workers.

A strange time for anyone, and even stranger time for those pregnant or just bringing babies into this world. Which isn’t long for us!

xXx

--

--

Victoria Louise

Little snippets of my life and my learnings in the hopes sharing will empower others.