Testing 1,2,4,4 A physical series from digital

Wessel
3 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

The set

With the endless swings in the market and the ebb and flow of interest in digital nowadays, I’ve had to figure out how to pivot and adapt. I need to survive, make some money, and in order to do so, I need to evolve. My deep dive obsession with digital has taught me a lot, but in the midst of that I’ve also forgotten about a lot, namely, how physical interaction, presentation, etc., can add a whole extra level of meaning and possible interpretation to the piece.

To those ends, when the test prints for a run of editions for my digital abstract series Spiritual Noise, arrived, I decided to create a specific and special set of these first ones, before the first ones, following the theme of, testing new ideas. I also added the rules that it had to be thematically attached to the pieces original intent and I could only use materials I had available to me currently in my room. I also put the unconscious rule that I wouldn’t let myself get angry or frustrated as the process was to try and learn.

When the prints came in I did some brainstorming

Thus, I let myself flow with each piece, trying out different ideas in my mind, then, while fresh, acting on them. It was a fun process of brainstorming how to present, how to put the materials together, how to achieve desired feelings from the presentation, and vibe the pieces inside so that I could figure what external would really make them shine, plus a new spin.

Not just backing board and a slip case, but unique identities

Always about the evolution and adding on, how to add depth and breadth to what’s being created, part of the line of fun that I’m pursuing right now. Pulling myself away from too much more introspection as I think I’ve learned a lot from that path and need to apply that energy in new and different ways, act on those lessons that have been internalized.

I’m totally into digital and believe in its future, but also know there needs to be some sort of bridge between that and the physical we hold so dear now. What can link that digital idea with the physical presence in a way that adds to the work as a whole and tickles the collectors fancy even more? So many thought processes that need to be worked out, and this short series is another step.

Making each print unique, coming to life it it’s own way. Fuck, also an edition of 10 pieces on Exchange (Solana)

Testing 1,2,3,4, is another of my work-in-progress experiments (also called art by some). The ways in which I’m trying to edit and create new paths internally with my thoughts and feelings, combined with how to express and engage externally through what I create in more and better ways, a wild path that requires a level of patience and perseverance that only those who have been through it can understand.

I hope you enjoy this piece. Below is a short talk through about this piece.

More information about the digital abstract series

--

--

Wessel

In a constant state of expressing. Artist by nature and trade. Physical and digital. iamwessel.com