The Best Camera Is: iPhone 6

The One You Have With You

Ian Hanson
3 min readMar 11, 2022
Camera mirror selfie. Didn’t realize how many of these I did until now. Minneapolis, Minnesota.

There is a saying, “The best camera…is the one you have with you.”

In “The Best Camera Is” series, we peek at the best photos from the best camera I had with me.

From — December 2014 to fall 2017, one of those cameras was the iPhone 6.

The iPhone 6 was my first foray into Apple’s cellular ecosystem. I literally bought it because it would be easier to transfer photos to the rest of my devices than my Samsung Galaxy.

For an always-on-you-camera-in-your-pocket, I was pleased with the results. I preferred the smaller phones, and this gave me no reason to believe in smartphones. While I owned a 6 for three years…each year marked a new model covered by warranty. Bending in my pocket and exploding batteries (maybe that was the SE…) forced/allowed me to keep replacing them.

But the pictures were pretty decent.

Yellowstone by winter. Much colder than it looked. Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming. ©Photo by Me

--

--