Ian Kelly Jamotillo
6 min readAug 27, 2019

Last August 23rd, Taylor Swift released her much-awaited seventh studio album titled “Lover”. According to Miss Taytay herself, the album “is very much a celebration of love, in all its complexity, coziness, and chaos.” As a full-pledged Swiftie since 2014, I couldn’t be more excited to hear what she has in store. So without further ado, here is my track by track review of Taylor Swift’s Lover.

Track 1: I Forgot That You Existed

I have to be honest, this is not the strongest album-opener of Taylor. That title goes to either State of Grace from RED or …Ready for It? from reputation. But here is the big BUT, I like the hook of this song. I can picture myself dancing to this. The message is simple, it’s about reminiscing your past struggles, reminiscing those people who hurt you and realizing you’re in peace now and that none of them mattered to you.

Rating: 8.2/10
Favorite lyric: “It isn’t love, it isn’t hate, it’s just indifference”

Track 2: Cruel Summer

THE BEST TRACK IN THE ALBUM. FIGHT ME!!! If Out of the Woods from 1989 and Getaway Car from reputation (which is my top favorite from both albums) had a love child, it would be Cruel Summer. Taylor’s songwriting really shined in this track and the hook, THE HOOK, OH MY GOD, have you seen my wig? Oh, and did you noticed Taylor growling in the bridge part? She keeps surprising ME!

Rating: 9.8/10
Favorite lyric: “I don’t wanna keep secrets just to keep you”

Track 3: Lover

The title track. Can I just say how beautiful this song is? It’s one of those that you’ll hear in a cheesy romantic-comedy film. A perfect slow dance for the prom. My heart just melts every time I listen to this track. Taylor is really in love and I pray that we also find that one great love we all deserve.

Rating: 9.5/10
Favorite lyric: “And there’s a dazzling haze, a mysterious way about you, dear”

Track 4: The Man

I may get hate from this, but this is one of my least favorites. The lyrical content is good, and I appreciate the intention of the song. But I just can’t connect sonically, and it feels slightly out of place in the album. It’s just me, we all have different taste. I liked the outro though! *let the choir sing*

Rating: 7.9/10
Favorite lyric: “If I was out flashing my dollars. I’d be a bitch, not a baller”

Track 5: The Archer

We’ve reached the fifth track. Swifties know all too well that Taylor has a track record of putting her most vulnerable and emotional song on the fifth track of her respective albums. She served the fans well. The Archer is haunting, yet raw and very personal. Kudos on your vulnerability, T-Swift.

Rating: 9.4/10
Favorite lyric: “I’ve got a hundred thrown-out speeches I almost said to you”

Track 6: I Think He Knows

This is a cute song. It’s not the strongest, but I will not skip this. I have a feeling this is a grower.

Rating: 8.0/10
Favorite lyric: “Lyrical smile, indigo eyes, hand on my thigh. We could follow the sparks, I’ll drive”

Track 7: Miss Americana and the Heartbreak Prince

So this is a political song huh? What I love about Taylor’s songwriting is her ability to make you picture every scene in the song. So much imagery in this. You’re a bad, bad girl Taylor…in a good way!

Rating: 8.6/10
Favorite lyric: “You play stupid games, you win stupid prizes”

Track 8: Paper Rings

Let me tell you honestly what I feel about this song. I was quite disappointed because this was upbeat. In my opinion, this has the potential to be an “All Too Well” contender if this was a ballad. I mean look at the message of the song! I appreciate the experimental production though.

Rating: 7.5/10
Favorite lyric: “Honey, without all the exes, fights, and flaws, we wouldn’t be standing here so tall’

Track 9: Cornelia Street

Taylor’s vocals in this track really took my breath away. Cornelia Street is about a delicate relationship and how you try to preserve it because you don’t want a great love to end. Ugh, this track makes wanna hate my single life right now.

Rating: 8.8/10
Favorite lyric: “And baby, I get mystified by how this city screams your name. And baby, I’m so terrified of if you ever walk away”

Track 10: Death by a Thousand Cuts

The intro got me shooketh. Taylor really did that! This song is about a painful breakup and how it can take a toll on someone’s heart. Trust me, this track hits hard. Trivia: this song is inspired by the Netflix film, Someone Great starring Gina Rodriguez. There goes the heartache.

Rating: 8.9/10
Favorite lyric: “You said it was a great love, one for the ages. But if the story’s over, why am I still writing pages?”

Track 11: London Boy

Another cute song! This is definitely a bop. I’m so happy that Taylor found Joe. She deserves to be happy after everything she had been through. Now, where’s my own London Boy??!!

Rating: 8.7/10
Favorite lyric: “They say home is where the heart is. But God, I love the English”

Track 12: Soon You’ll Get Better feat. Dixie Chicks

Prepare your tissues for this one. This track is very personal, about Taylor’s mom, Andrea who was diagnosed with cancer in April 2015 then re-diagnosed in March 2019. Praying for your healing, Mama Swift. *sobs*

Rating: 8.5/10
Favorite lyric: “Desperate people find faith, so now I pray to Jesus too”

Track 13: False God

The religious imagery on this track is on point! It’s about a love that’s so strong, it’s comparable to something all-powerful and all-knowing. I don’t know but this is giving me Don’t Blame Me vibes from reputation (which is one of the best in that album).

Rating: 8.6/10
Favorite lyric: “Staring out the window like I’m not your favorite town. I’m New York City, I still do it for you, babe”

Track 14: You Need to Calm Down

THIS A BOP. Thank you Taylor for being an ally. This is also a shade to her haters, ya’ll being too loud so calm the fuck down. Peace!

Rating: 9.0/10
Favorite lyric: “Sunshine on the street at the parade. But you would rather be in the dark ages, makin’ that sign must’ve taken all night”

Track 15: Afterglow

How many times did Taylor mention the color blue in the album? I fucking love this song. This is one of the god-tiers in the album. Taylor’s apologetic and I am living for it (Hello, Back to December). Uhm, I think I just murdered the replay button.

Rating: 9.7/10
Favorite lyric: “Fighting with true love is boxing with no gloves”

Track 16: ME! feat. Brendon Urie of Panic! At the Disco

I have mixed reactions about this track. The beat is catchy but I really have to be honest, this is the weakest song on the album lyrically speaking. Brendon Urie’s vocals were excellent though. If it’s me, I’ll pick You Need to Calm Down as the lead single.

Rating: 7.2/10
Favorite lyric: None sorry.

Track 17: It’s Nice to Have a Friend

This is just plain weird. Eerie, monotonous and no build-up. But I do appreciate the intention of the song. Let’s just move to the next track, shall we?

Rating: 6.7/10
Favorite lyric: “Something gave you the nerve, to touch my hand”

Track 18: Daylight

We’ve reached the final track of the album. Another god-tier song! In my opinion, this is Taylor’s best album ender. It’s about finally stepping out in the light after being hit by the darkness for so long. You move on from all the pain because you’re ready to love again — this time it’s for real, for keeps. The outro is perfect, tears streaming down my face. Oh, and there’s a nod to the RED album!

Rating: 9.7/10
Favorite lyric: “I wounded the good and I trusted the wicked. Clearing the air, I breathed in the smoke”

So that’s my track by track review. Taylor Swift’s Lover is definitely worth the wait. I really adore the production and the transition from the dark era of reputation to the colorful, dreamy and ethereal era of Lover is fantastic. This album is for all the lovers out there, for those who choose to keep loving despite not being reciprocated. This is for the people who keep on loving, despite the pain and circumstances that are trying to tear them apart.

My Holy Trinity: Cruel Summer, Afterglow, Daylight
Honorable Mentions: Lover, The Archer, Cornelia Street, Death by a Thousand Cuts, False God, Miss Americana and the Heartbreak Prince.

In this cruel world, we can only save ourselves by loving each other. Because love is what makes the world a better place. Because love is the greatest emotion that can eradicate every single evil out there.

Ian Kelly Jamotillo

An extroverted introvert writer with passion for good food, good music and astounding views. Subscribe to my personal newsletter: tinyletter.com/ianjwrites