A Deep Dive Into the Surprisingly Dense World of Tic Tacs

A piece of heaven so small it almost doesn’t exist

Lilian McDonough
6 min readSep 24, 2021
(Image: Ferrero Brands)

Whoever said you can’t make a centimeter-long, pill-shaped mint candy that was both fun to look at and borderline addicting to eat was terribly wrong.

Tic Tacs have been a staple of the mint world since 1969 when they were introduced as “Refreshing Mints” by Ferrero. Originally available in both Fresh Mint and Orange flavors, the miniature candies sold like hotcakes, exploding in popularity and spawning several additional flavors.

Now a mainstay of pop culture, Tic Tacs have received several film and TV tie-ins, have made memorable appearances in films like Juno, and have even been mentioned in the Marvel Cinematic Universe as Sam Wilson’s genius nickname for Ant-Man.

(GIF: Fox Searchlight Pictures)

I’ve recently found myself with…how do I put this lightly? A severe Tic Tac addiction.

Something about Tic Tacs (probably their small size and perfect flavoring) has made them my latest short-term happiness generator. When I eat a Tic Tac, I feel refreshed and motivated. Writing while consuming Tic Tacs is my new favorite hobby.

--

--