Bixel Boys & the Art of Growing Up

Ian MacPherson
4 min readJun 29, 2017

--

Why I’m hanging up my headphones.

I’ve tried to write this goodbye letter at least 10 times. And every time I struggle finding a single theme to frame my decision to leave Bixel Boys. Not because of a lack of feelings in moving on from a career that has given me so much, but that there are so many. But as I tumble through the different emotions that led to this point, I think the one that sticks out the most to me is growth.

In many ways Bixel Boys (as a brand) is a projection of my entire youth. And while maybe I wasn’t aware of it all the time, so many small experiences I’ve had growing up are embedded into the marks and messaging of Bixel. The riot footage in our visuals from San Francisco when I was in high school; the Raiders logo for my mom’s favorite team; Bixel being a street I worked on, it was all so personal. When I was a kid I dressed in all black, died my hair blonde, pierced my lip and ears, drew tattoo’s on myself until I was old enough to get them. I’d cover my binders and note books with pictures of skulls and sports logos, I’d be in the front row of Taking Back Sunday concerts screaming every word, and jam guitar on my SG with my little brother on drums. This project whether I knew it or not, was an exercise in complete honesty with my younger self. Over the last 4 years I’ve gotten to act like Peter Pan, reveling in the shadow of my youth, getting to see the world, playing Coachella, and discovering a best friend in Rob.

This year I turned thirty and as people say, ‘my priorities have changed.’ I find my truth is found less in expressing my youth, but more in exploring my age. My hunger for adventure has been satisfied by Bixel Boys, but there’s a thirst for something new that it can’t quench. One lesson I’ve taken from this project is to embrace vulnerability and the fear of the unknown, and I look forward to starting from scratch and finding new means to creatively express myself outside of music. I poured myself into the architecture, brand and story of Bixel Boys; and I want to take that passion into doing the same for myself and others through design and creative direction.

My heart from the start of Bixel Boys was in story telling. Our story was cut from a very authentic and personal place. We never studied what other people were doing, we never wanted to look, sound or act like anyone else, and we were able to find success because our story came from a place of truth. It’s stories like this that I want to tell, for brands, athletes, artists and publications. I’m looking forward to starting a new career with a new set of challenges, and without the experience as Bixel Boys I don’t think I’d ever have the courage to pursue it.

I want to thank Rob, I never ever could have done this with out you. It’s been a blessing having you as a friend and partner in this project I never could’ve thought we’d do this for 4 years. I want to thank Latane, we came along way from the basement of Town House man, and to this day those gigs are some of the best times of my life. Thanks to our first manager Will, thanks for helping get this project off the ground. Our current management Adrian, Nick and Geo, love you guys. Lastly, I want to thank everyone from the bottom of my heart that clicked play on soundcloud or came to a show. You have no idea how much you’ve impacted my life moving forward, you’ve given me the utmost confidence in myself despite my flaws and allowed me to take a journey that I’ll remember forever. I’ll leave you with a quote from polish poet Stanislaw Jerzy Lec,

“Youth is the gift of nature, but age is a work of art.”

with love, Ian Bixel.

PS between now and the end of summer Rob and I will be doing a farewell tour, we hope to see you there.

--

--