CS373 Fall 2021: Ian Winson

Ian Winson
2 min readSep 26, 2021

--

Week 5

What did you do this past week?

This past week I met my group members and met with them several times via Discord to come up with an idea and write the proposal document. I also worked a lot on applications and interviews in an attempt a job when I graduate this May. I also had time this week to see friends and go celebrate a friend’s birthday.

What’s in your way?

The main thing in my way as it relates to SWE is working on project 2 with my group members. After deciding on our idea we must now do the steps necessary for the first deadline on October 4th such as setting up AWS and our React App. I also need to keep working on other classes, more applications, and interviews.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will meet with my team again to start work on Project 2. We need to figure out what is the best way for us to work together and how to split it up. I also have homework in other classes that I need to work on due early this upcoming week.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #5: Pair Programming?

I thought this week’s paper on Pair Programming was very interesting. I did a lot of peer programming in high school before I knew there was an official term on it, and have continued to do lots of it throughout CS programming courses at UT.

What was your experience of Python’s object model, list, tuple, set, dict, and iterators? (this question will vary, week to week)

We learned about a lot of these concepts in Data Structures but I have had to relearn some of it because it has been a while and because our Data Structures class was in Java and these are python objects.

What made you happy this week?

I was happy to spend time with friends this week and watch the Longhorns beat Texas Tech badly. I was also happy to wrap up projects this week in my other CS classes and exams in my other classes.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to read the guides on Ed Discussion regarding the setting up of AWS and the basic guide to languages. I thought they were very good refreshers and helpful for Phase 1.

--

--