CS373 Fall 2021: Ian Winson

Ian Winson
2 min readAug 29, 2021

--

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Dallas, Texas near White Rock Lake.

What high school did you attend?

I went to Jesuit College Preparatory School in Dallas.

What was your favorite extracurricular activity in high school?

My favorite extracurricular was participating on the FRC robotics team 2848.

Why did you come to UT?

I came to UT because I really like Austin and think its a great value to get a CS degree here.

Why are you majoring in CS?

I always really enjoyed problem solving and technology so it fits me pretty well. I also think graduating with a CS degree can open doors in lots of different fields.

Why are you in this class?

I am in this class to learn more about Web Programming and further knowledge in python and other languages. I also heard great things about this class from older classmates and wanted to learn about more professional software development.

What are your expectations of this class?

I believe this class will be challenging from a programming perspective but a great way to learn many useful skills.

How much Javascript/Python/SQL/Web programming do you already know?

I am proficient in Javascript, Python, and Web programming languages but I have limited experience with SQL.

How did you like the first lectures?

I thought it was a good introduction to the course and the EMRN grading system.

How did you feel about the cold calling?

I think cold calling is a good way to keep everyone listening and paying attention.

What made you happy this week?

I just got back to Austin and am very happy to be here!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I took this course over the summer to learn more about ROS and found it very helpful and worth the time.

--

--