Exercise: Visual Note-Taking

iany trisuzzi
1 min readJun 4, 2019

--

After reading and studying about how sketches can change the way we learn and absorb information, we had to practice while watching a video from Margaret Gould Stewart: How Giant Websites Design For You.

I've watched twice and took different notes. Here are my results:

The first thing I've noticed was that when having in mind that I had to take notes, I started to pay more attention to what she was saying and what parts were more important to highlight. But I think since I don't have the habit of doing so, sometimes I felt the need to pause the video so I could organize better how I was going to display the informations on the page.

The second time I've watched, I tried not to pause the video since I already knew what she was going to say, but I felt like the doodles started to look more weak (I added all the colors later). Also, since I already knew a few parts I realized I had missed a few less important things the first time, but in general I think I learned better by taking notes with doodles.

--

--

iany trisuzzi

product designer passionate about creating interfaces. currently working at mLabs. ironhack alumni. based in sao paulo, brazil.