Life of a QA Engineer in FinTech.

Ibironke Yekinni
3 min readOct 16, 2019

--

More than Testing…

My work experience thus far has given me a unique perspective and help me realize that what I do is more than just testing or hunting for “bugs” as a Quality Assurance Engineer (QAE). Rather, it is more of me bringing into light the importance of bug triage in every component.

As a QA Engineer at my current role, I have the responsibility of interfacing with different teams not just the engineering or development team. These responsibilities have helped me love the synchronization of my work with experts from different backgrounds.

At work, I pivot between assuming the role of the inquisitive internal novice user that tests and review features while working as a team player to deliver a quality product — An individual with two minds: technical and novice.

The demand for test automation is high is at a decade high, and as a QA in the FinTech domain, I understand the allure of automated regression tests due to the expected swift deployment of a feature.

What makes me more than just a Tester?

Being an Agile QAE with vast experience in different domains, I have experienced a similar flow of Agile SDLC model but the STLC flow varies based on the industry type as well as the willingness of the management to adopt a particular style. I’m an active participant in all the phases of the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) and take full ownership of all the activities of the Software Testing LifeCycle (STLC).

SDLC vs STLC

If it’s not tested, it’s not usable and if a user cannot use it, then it doesn’t work.

In each of these stages listed above, I play a crucial role in business by ensuring that products meet certain thresholds of acceptability. I’m involved in planning, directing and coordinating quality assurance programs and formulate quality control policies. I also work to improve the organization’s efficiency and profitability by reducing waste. With an eye for details, I am conscientious and committed to excellence, I find it gratifying, and I’m passionate about my role as a Quality Assurance Engineer.

Being actively involved in the SDLC activities, performing the end to end activities in the STLC process are way more than the testing, identifying bugs and logging issues.

Skills a QAE in FinTech should Possess
Aside from the top 10 skills that I’ve compiled which guide me as a QA Engineer, I have come to understand the importance of having the following skills as a QAE in the FinTech domain and these skills applies to other domains as well:

  • Knowledge of Vulnerabilities
  • Understanding of Secure Web Communications and Technologies and
  • Soft Skills (Public Speaking and Report Writing)

Don’t Go Live without Testing — my Information security officer always echoes this.

How important are QA Engineers?
Gone are the days when QA Engineers are an afterthought resource in an Organization’s tech/dev team. Companies that still do this aren’t ready for the disruption in the marketplace yet. I believe that QAs play a vital role in every component that makes up your business and makes your products usable. It’s of utmost importance that any firm that is involved in deploying products to be used by humans must factor in a team of Quality Assurance Engineers in every step of the SDLC.

History has proven the results of software defects to be tragic which includes but not limited to:

❖ Loss of customers.
❖ Loss of money.
❖ Loss of lives.
❖ Loss of reputation and
❖ A lot of time is lost fixing bugs in production

What QA Engineers do is more than testing. Furthermore, testing is more than an activity, it’s a process.

At the end of the process, life has all the possible test scenarios. You can’t test it all but for those that can be tested, take a test at a time… 🙂

--

--

Ibironke Yekinni

Test Engineer @interswitchgroup |Testify.NG Organizer | Nigeria Testers A. Secretary | Life-Long Learner | Passionate about helping young people grow